Cranberry Apple Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
I read all 78 reviews, and was intrigued by how the recipe worked for some but not others. I made the recipe as written. My apples and cranberries did not give off any liquid, so the batter was literally like a crumble topping. I hoped the fruit would give off liquid while baking, but it didn't...very disappointed. Skip this recipe! Seriously, if the recipe is this controversial, choose another recipe...I wish I would have!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
I didn't have any trouble with it at all. I didn't cut the apples particularly fine, and the moment that I put the oil and sugar together there was a lot of liquid. I did beat the egg well before adding it. I can't find cranberries - fresh or frozen so I used dried ones. The apples I used were Canada Gris. It was pleasant, too much fruit and not enough cake. I don't think I would bother making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
I loved this! I made the following small changes--added 1/4 t salt, 1/2 t vanilla, and 1/4 cup applesauce (mostly because my egg was so small). I only had one apple, so I put in a few extra cranberries. Mine was finished in about 30 minutes. The batter is very stiff, but the loaf is really moist and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne B-A

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jlnolan72
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
Excellent recipe. Fresh cranberries made it just the right tartness. I also substituted 1/2 cup pears and 1 1/2 cup apples and a little extra oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
I have been using this exact recipe since 1996 - from a woman I had worked with. It is a 'dry' batter, but it comes out so moist and delicious. I do not change or add anything at all to the ingredients. However, I do bake it in my stoneware loaf pan, reduce the temp to 325 degrees and let it bake for about 1 hour and 20 minutes, checking it after an hour. So good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gardner, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Palm Harbor, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
Even my fussy eater bf likes this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
It's midwinter and the air is very dry. I heeded the not enough liquid and added 1/4 cup milk, 1 tsp vanilla and and extra half T oil. Everyone loved it. Crisp sweet crust, moist inside. The 1/4 inch apple chunks were like apple pie. Next time I'm going to try half brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CVanwieren
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
I made this on Thanksgiving morning and brought it over to my mother's house since she enjoys the breakfast bread from Publix. She absolutely loves it. She has requested for me to bring it every time I come over now. After hearing a few people's problems with liquid, I let the apples and sugar sit for an hour to bring out the juices. After that, I continued the recipe as directed, with the exception of chopping up the cranberries in a food processor. It was moist and delicious. I actually had to bake the loaf for an extra amount of time because the dough was so wet. Love the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
I really like this recipe, and have made it several times now. It works well with all sorts of apples, including mushy ones. It is terrific for using up apples that my family won’t eat as hand fruit. Some reviewers have complained that the dough is too dry. I find that much of the moisture in the recipe comes from the juice of the apples. The overall moisture level of the dough will depend on how juicy the apples are, how small the apple chunks are and how long you stir them in the sugar and oil. The more you stir, the more moisture is drawn out. The recipe still comes out fine, even if the dough is very stiff. If you are looking for a fine-grained bread like a banana nut bread or zucchini bread, cut the apples to 1/8 to ¼ inch cubes, and coarsely chop the cranberries. I pulsed them briefly in a food processor. (I only recommend chopping the cranberries if they are fresh and firm.) The dough will be moist and pourable if you go this route. If you want something with big, moist chunks, leave the cranberries whole and cut the apples to ¼ to ½ inch cubes. In this case, the dough will be stiff and you will have to spoon it into the pan. I usually double the recipe, so that I can use an entire bag of cranberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Swimmy44
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
I just made this and took it out of the oven. Noticed right away no liquid was listed in the recipe and I added 1/2 cup of orange juice since 3/4 cup is called for in the standard cranberry bread recipe which has more sugar and flour and no apples. It looks good, a little brown as it took a while to bake through since it is very moist. I made a small one with excess batter and will use a 9x11 pan next time - the moistness of the recipe makes it slow to bake through in my convection oven without browning on top too much. Anyway, it's tastes delish but 3 stars only because of the error in the recipe! Tried to add a photo but it didn't work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Cranberry, Apple, and Fresh Ginger Chutney

This cranberry chutney has bite and isn’t as sweet as most cranberry sauces.

Sausage, Apple, and Cranberry Stuffing

This stuffing blends sausage, turkey liver, fruits, and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States