Cranberry Almond Biscotti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
This is what traditional biscotti is *supposed* to taste like. Biscotti is not supposed to have oils or fats in them and are supposed to be one of the more nutritious cookies that you can make as a result. With that said, I have made this recipe a dozen or so times and I have added a few things that others may find handy: 1) You can "knead" the cookie dough in the bowl you are working with. You may need to wet your hands to avoid copious amounts of batter sticking to you. 2) Add the almonds and cranberries to the dry ingredients as it is far easier to incorporate them into the dry than the wet. 3) Add lemon zest or orange zest to the mix to make the cookies even more aromatic and enjoyable. 4) Instead of the "logs" that are suggested, create 2 giant cookies about 5-6 inches in diameter. Put them on baking paper to ease in cleanup and removal. The cookies will be cut in straight lines and result in large biscotti instead of smallish ones. With a circle, there is not need to cut on a bias, since any angle is straight in a circle. 5) If your fingers can stand it (or use an oven mit), cut the biscotti into fingers almost immediately upon removing them from the oven. The biscotti will still be soft enough not to crumble when you cut them and you can save 10 minutes of cooling time. 6) Ensure that the second time you bake them, you lay the fingers bottom-down instead of possibly on their sides. This will prevent uneven browning on the sides. 7) Coat with chocolate o
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
170 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2005
When I first made these, I had never done biscotti before, and I was afraid they would be a flop, but they were GREAT! I used the almond extract, and the only thing you need to do to these that is not in the recipie is to knead them for a few minutes when they are in the two seperate logs, or else the dough is a bit crumbly and unmanagable. I have made these twice now, and the second time, I dipped oneend in chocolate and gave them away to friends around the holidays, so pretty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2001
I didn't like this one at all. I've made many different kinds of biscotti before, and I thought this one sounded strange without any butter or oil in it, but figured I'd give it a try anyhow. My first instinct was right though. The texture was not at all good, and they seemed stale later that afternoon already.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2005
Excellent! I forgot to put the cranberries and almonds in, but I had already put the logs onto the cookie sheet, so I sprinkled some almonds on top (I had used almond extract) and baked them anyway. Then I made a second batch with the cranberries and almonds and vanilla extract, and both turned out very very good! HINTS: 1.) Like the previous reviewer said, just knead the dough before shaping it, making it all stick together. That adds a little love to the recipe too, I'm sure it makes it taste extra special :) 2.) Try using SUGAR instead of flour to cover the surface you shape it on. This gives it a nice crystallized, slightly sweet texture to the outside and gives it the extra "oomph" that separates it from other biscotti recipes! THANKS for a great recipe - I'll be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2004
I substituted three quarters of the sugar with Splenda with excellent results. They are outstanding!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NHORAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Merrimack, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef4Six
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
FANTASTIC!! This biscotti was perfect! Everything you think about a biscotti - is what this is! Long and thick and ultra crispy, yet has a nice delicate flavor! I don't know why other recipes are used - when this one is so low in fat and so easy to make! It is really versitile! I used 3 eggs instead of the 2 eggs and 2 egg whites. I also used a little less sugar than what was called for - and it was sweet enough. I have made it as written and I have also made it with other modifications. I made it into Coconut Biscotti by omitting the almonds and dried cranberries, and added 2 cups of flaked sweetened coconuts and 1 tsp. cinnamon. I also made it with chocolate chips and sprinkles some cinnamon sugar on the sliced biscottis when the baked the second time. They were all fantastic! I will be making this again! UPDATE - I made these for PASSOVER! Instead of the 2 1/4 cup flour - i substituted 1/2 of that amount of matzo cake meal and 1/2 the amount of potato starch! I also made another batch and instead of flour used 1/2 the amount of matzo meal and 1/2 the amount potato starch - both came out great - but i liked the one with matzo cake meal as it has a finer crumb than matzo meal. - Both were fantastic! I used chocolate chips instead of the almonds and cranberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2000
This is so easy (for biscotti). I made this last year for a cookie exchange with 13 other women and this was voted as the winner. I added 1 t. cinnamon and 1/2 t nutmeg, and used Crasins instead of fresh cranberrys. This was a welcome recipe that I didn't have to struggle with broken pices at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
This recipe was extremely easy to make and low in fat to boot! I used whole almonds instead of sliced and it turned out perfectly! I will definitely be making this biscotti recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pipestone, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2004
I have made these Biscotti repeatedly with outstanding results. I make them gluten free and they are easily adapted to GF starches with the addition of xantham gum. They are crumbly to slice but the crumbs taste so delicious, we don't mind the extra tidbits! Keeps well, if they don't get eaten quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2005
Perfect recipe. I used a little bit of butter on my hands when shaping the two loaves and that worked beautifully. This is an excellent recipe and I would highly recommend it. Don't change a thing other than making a different variation such as orange peel and chopped dates, maybe???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Zebulon, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Pistachio Biscotti

Authentic Italian biscotti with distinct, surprising flavors.

Biscotti

Watch how to make to make this top-rated Italian cookie recipe.

Raspberry and Almond Thumbprints

Your favorite thumbprint cookies, jazzed up with delicious glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States