Cranberry Almond Biscotti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
these were fantastic. They were very easy to make. I made them for a get together and got tons of compliments. I had a little trouble using my hand mixer as the dough rode up. Next time I'll use my mix master. Also all the tips about keeping your hands wet were right on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shamong, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Harrisburg, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
This is what traditional biscotti is *supposed* to taste like. Biscotti is not supposed to have oils or fats in them and are supposed to be one of the more nutritious cookies that you can make as a result. With that said, I have made this recipe a dozen or so times and I have added a few things that others may find handy: 1) You can "knead" the cookie dough in the bowl you are working with. You may need to wet your hands to avoid copious amounts of batter sticking to you. 2) Add the almonds and cranberries to the dry ingredients as it is far easier to incorporate them into the dry than the wet. 3) Add lemon zest or orange zest to the mix to make the cookies even more aromatic and enjoyable. 4) Instead of the "logs" that are suggested, create 2 giant cookies about 5-6 inches in diameter. Put them on baking paper to ease in cleanup and removal. The cookies will be cut in straight lines and result in large biscotti instead of smallish ones. With a circle, there is not need to cut on a bias, since any angle is straight in a circle. 5) If your fingers can stand it (or use an oven mit), cut the biscotti into fingers almost immediately upon removing them from the oven. The biscotti will still be soft enough not to crumble when you cut them and you can save 10 minutes of cooling time. 6) Ensure that the second time you bake them, you lay the fingers bottom-down instead of possibly on their sides. This will prevent uneven browning on the sides. 7) Coat with chocolate o
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
170 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
This recipe was extremely easy to make and low in fat to boot! I used whole almonds instead of sliced and it turned out perfectly! I will definitely be making this biscotti recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pipestone, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef4Six
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
FANTASTIC!! This biscotti was perfect! Everything you think about a biscotti - is what this is! Long and thick and ultra crispy, yet has a nice delicate flavor! I don't know why other recipes are used - when this one is so low in fat and so easy to make! It is really versitile! I used 3 eggs instead of the 2 eggs and 2 egg whites. I also used a little less sugar than what was called for - and it was sweet enough. I have made it as written and I have also made it with other modifications. I made it into Coconut Biscotti by omitting the almonds and dried cranberries, and added 2 cups of flaked sweetened coconuts and 1 tsp. cinnamon. I also made it with chocolate chips and sprinkles some cinnamon sugar on the sliced biscottis when the baked the second time. They were all fantastic! I will be making this again! UPDATE - I made these for PASSOVER! Instead of the 2 1/4 cup flour - i substituted 1/2 of that amount of matzo cake meal and 1/2 the amount of potato starch! I also made another batch and instead of flour used 1/2 the amount of matzo meal and 1/2 the amount potato starch - both came out great - but i liked the one with matzo cake meal as it has a finer crumb than matzo meal. - Both were fantastic! I used chocolate chips instead of the almonds and cranberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
loved this recipe! turned out just as I hoped it would. I added ground anise seed to 1/2 of recipe and omitted the cranberries. left the other 1/2 as directed. both came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patricia McCallum Casner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
Really good. I coated mine with melted white chocolate after they had cooled. My father-in-law couldn't keep his hands off them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SIOCHANLEAT82

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Issaquah, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
Easy recipe, and the cookies look very nice, but taste is a bit bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
Delicious! My first biscotti recipe. I was a little sceptical when I had the gooey ness all over my hands but after they were done...delicious. Next time I will but butter on my hands before trying to "mold" it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
Not bad, not great. Easy to work with, not a lot of crumbling, but is so dry and hard I wonder how long they will keep. I liked the "Cranberry Pistachio Biscotti" recipe on here much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
These Biscotti were wonderful. I made some changes because I didn't have some ingredients. I substituted 1 Tablespoon of vanilla for the 1 Tablespoon of almond, and I substituted chopped pecans for the almonds. I rubbed my hands with butter like one of the reviewers suggested and did everything else the same. The biscotti came out really really good so this must be a fail-proof recipe! I'll definitely make this again plus it was fun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Pistachio Biscotti

Authentic Italian biscotti with distinct, surprising flavors.

Biscotti

Watch how to make to make this top-rated Italian cookie recipe.

Raspberry and Almond Thumbprints

Your favorite thumbprint cookies, jazzed up with delicious glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States