Cranberry Almond Biscotti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
I followed the recipe exactly, but my dough came out too runny to shape. I ended up putting it on the parchment paper and shaping that then freezing the whole thing to get it to hold the shape. Once it baked the parchment just peeled off (love that stuff!) Since I had read so many comments about it crumbling, I used a very sharp serrated knife and sliced as soon as they came out of the oven while they were still on the parchment paper. The inside was a bit undercooked, but I was able to slide each slice onto a clean cookie sheet for the second bake. Amazing, but the finished result looks ok and tastes quite good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
didn't hit the spot. not much flavor. It looked very pretty :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JMK1801

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
I had a hankering for cranberry almond biscotti and came across this recipe. Definately a keeper! I rather liked the lack of fat in the recipe. The cookies don't need it, they are supposed to be dry. That's the point of biscotti. I did drop the vanilla to 2 tsp. however because I am a cheap cook and I buy good vanilla. 1 Tbsp is a little too rich for my blood for one cookie batch. They still tasted good. I also used whole almonds and that was just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
I love this recipe! I found I don't have to change a thing to get them to turn out. I tried using almond flavoring and that worked also. Great treat to go with an afternoon latte!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
these were fantastic. They were very easy to make. I made them for a get together and got tons of compliments. I had a little trouble using my hand mixer as the dough rode up. Next time I'll use my mix master. Also all the tips about keeping your hands wet were right on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shamong, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Harrisburg, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
This is what traditional biscotti is *supposed* to taste like. Biscotti is not supposed to have oils or fats in them and are supposed to be one of the more nutritious cookies that you can make as a result. With that said, I have made this recipe a dozen or so times and I have added a few things that others may find handy: 1) You can "knead" the cookie dough in the bowl you are working with. You may need to wet your hands to avoid copious amounts of batter sticking to you. 2) Add the almonds and cranberries to the dry ingredients as it is far easier to incorporate them into the dry than the wet. 3) Add lemon zest or orange zest to the mix to make the cookies even more aromatic and enjoyable. 4) Instead of the "logs" that are suggested, create 2 giant cookies about 5-6 inches in diameter. Put them on baking paper to ease in cleanup and removal. The cookies will be cut in straight lines and result in large biscotti instead of smallish ones. With a circle, there is not need to cut on a bias, since any angle is straight in a circle. 5) If your fingers can stand it (or use an oven mit), cut the biscotti into fingers almost immediately upon removing them from the oven. The biscotti will still be soft enough not to crumble when you cut them and you can save 10 minutes of cooling time. 6) Ensure that the second time you bake them, you lay the fingers bottom-down instead of possibly on their sides. This will prevent uneven browning on the sides. 7) Coat with chocolate o
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
177 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
This recipe was extremely easy to make and low in fat to boot! I used whole almonds instead of sliced and it turned out perfectly! I will definitely be making this biscotti recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pipestone, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef4Six
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
FANTASTIC!! This biscotti was perfect! Everything you think about a biscotti - is what this is! Long and thick and ultra crispy, yet has a nice delicate flavor! I don't know why other recipes are used - when this one is so low in fat and so easy to make! It is really versitile! I used 3 eggs instead of the 2 eggs and 2 egg whites. I also used a little less sugar than what was called for - and it was sweet enough. I have made it as written and I have also made it with other modifications. I made it into Coconut Biscotti by omitting the almonds and dried cranberries, and added 2 cups of flaked sweetened coconuts and 1 tsp. cinnamon. I also made it with chocolate chips and sprinkles some cinnamon sugar on the sliced biscottis when the baked the second time. They were all fantastic! I will be making this again! UPDATE - I made these for PASSOVER! Instead of the 2 1/4 cup flour - i substituted 1/2 of that amount of matzo cake meal and 1/2 the amount of potato starch! I also made another batch and instead of flour used 1/2 the amount of matzo meal and 1/2 the amount potato starch - both came out great - but i liked the one with matzo cake meal as it has a finer crumb than matzo meal. - Both were fantastic! I used chocolate chips instead of the almonds and cranberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
loved this recipe! turned out just as I hoped it would. I added ground anise seed to 1/2 of recipe and omitted the cranberries. left the other 1/2 as directed. both came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patricia McCallum Casner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
Really good. I coated mine with melted white chocolate after they had cooled. My father-in-law couldn't keep his hands off them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SIOCHANLEAT82

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Issaquah, Washington, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Pistachio Biscotti

Authentic Italian biscotti with distinct, surprising flavors.

Biscotti

Watch how to make to make this top-rated Italian cookie recipe.

White Chocolate Macadamia Cranberry Dreams

These soft buttery treats make terrific holiday cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States