Cranberry Almond Biscotti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
i have tried several biscotti recipes from this site with varying degrees of success (from dismal failure to kind of edible) but these are the business! they are easy to make, delicious to eat, and turn out like a proper biscotti! i substituted 3/4 cup of Splenda for sugar, and added 5 drops of Almond Oil in addition to the almond extract---they are terrific! thank you for a wonderful recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyd_Delve

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamson, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
This is a keeper! I ALWAYS follow the recipe as written to begin with. This one doesn't need any tweaking! But I would add that if this is the first time anyone is going to try making Biscotti, here are a few tips on getting the Biscotti batter onto the cookie sheets. You will need two parchment paper lined cookie sheets, one for each Biscotti log. I sprinkled a bit of flour on an area of the parchment paper approximately 14 inches long by 1 1/2 inches wide. I put half the batter (about four big spoonfuls) down the center of each cookie sheet. Then I smoothed the batter into shape with a butter knife. This skips the step suggested in the original recipe that says to make the logs first and THEN transfer to your cookie sheets. This is very sticky batter, and can be very messy. My results were wonderful! Now that I know I've got a keeper, I'm going to start to "tinker." I think the first thing I"m going to do is drizzle white chocolate over these for a real gourmet treat. Thank you for a great recipe. Happy Biscotti everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
At last, without oil. Using parchment paper works for me. Also find working and shaping the dough into logs with a silicon spatula eliminates sticky hands.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
I had absolutely no problem with the dough being runny. Maybe it's because I used white whole wheat flour from Trader Joe's, but the dough was easy to pat into 14-inch logs and was not sticky at all. I also used half sugar and half splenda, and half almond and half vanilla extract. I cut the biscotti as soon as it came off its first bake and had no problem with crumbling either. I must have just gotten lucky. This was incredibly good and I can't thank you, Kathianne, enough for posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Photo by lilbambella
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
These are the first biscotti I have ever made and they were fantastic! A little tough to mix together and a very sticky dough but it turned out great! I had used a good amount of flour on the board to roll it up and used parchment paper on the cookie sheets. Thank you for making me unafraid of biscotti!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Northfield, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
I love this recipe. I use the base ingredients and then modify it by leaving out the cranberries and almonds and adding in cinnamon or cocoa powder (and increasing the sugar by about a quarter cup). This recipe is also a favorite with my nephew who is teething, I just leave out the cranberries and almonds and is a perfect for him and much cheaper than teething biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
I made this recipe for dessert when we had friends over for dinner. We served it with Amaretto flavored coffee and everyone kept talking about how wonderful it was! I will make this again soon!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
This is my go-to biscotti recipe. I add a little bit of almond extract in the recipe too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
These are good. First attempt at biscotti. The gooey texture of the batter kind of suprised me a bit, but no worries: the biscotii came out great. Definitely use almond extract and not vanilla. This makes a huge difference. I followed the recipe but took the advice of another and added orange zest. I also used half splenda half white sugar. Next time I may add semi sweet chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
This was so delicious, they came out perfectly! My only problem was I think I overmixed it a bit,and it was so sticky I could hardly roll it out....but that was my mistake! Still ended up being amazing, and I will be making this many more times in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carolmomof3

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cranberry Pistachio Biscotti

Authentic Italian biscotti with distinct, surprising flavors.

Biscotti

Watch how to make to make this top-rated Italian cookie recipe.

White Chocolate Macadamia Cranberry Dreams

These soft buttery treats make terrific holiday cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States