Cranberry Almond Biscotti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2000
This is so easy (for biscotti). I made this last year for a cookie exchange with 13 other women and this was voted as the winner. I added 1 t. cinnamon and 1/2 t nutmeg, and used Crasins instead of fresh cranberrys. This was a welcome recipe that I didn't have to struggle with broken pices at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2005
When I first made these, I had never done biscotti before, and I was afraid they would be a flop, but they were GREAT! I used the almond extract, and the only thing you need to do to these that is not in the recipie is to knead them for a few minutes when they are in the two seperate logs, or else the dough is a bit crumbly and unmanagable. I have made these twice now, and the second time, I dipped oneend in chocolate and gave them away to friends around the holidays, so pretty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2001
I slice my cookies thinner (about 1/4") and twice-bake them 30 minutes, to get them crunchies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2004
This was my 1st time making biscotti and was extremly pleased! My husband who is not a sweets eater is already asking for more and so are my kids. Took your advice and replaced vanilla extract w/almond. Thanks for a great recipe! I'm on my way to make more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2000
Easy, great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2005
Excellent! I forgot to put the cranberries and almonds in, but I had already put the logs onto the cookie sheet, so I sprinkled some almonds on top (I had used almond extract) and baked them anyway. Then I made a second batch with the cranberries and almonds and vanilla extract, and both turned out very very good! HINTS: 1.) Like the previous reviewer said, just knead the dough before shaping it, making it all stick together. That adds a little love to the recipe too, I'm sure it makes it taste extra special :) 2.) Try using SUGAR instead of flour to cover the surface you shape it on. This gives it a nice crystallized, slightly sweet texture to the outside and gives it the extra "oomph" that separates it from other biscotti recipes! THANKS for a great recipe - I'll be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2001
This recipe is very easy & fun to make and eat. It is a great low fat dessert or afternoon tea snack. This recipe is a hit because I can interchange any type of ingredients keeping the base simple - everyone loves these Italian cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2004
This recipe was very tasty and easy to make. I will make it again. Next time I will use less cranberries...I am not particularly crazy about them, but like a little bit of the flavor. I might also try toasting the almonds first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2004
I substituted three quarters of the sugar with Splenda with excellent results. They are outstanding!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NHORAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Merrimack, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2004
I have made these Biscotti repeatedly with outstanding results. I make them gluten free and they are easily adapted to GF starches with the addition of xantham gum. They are crumbly to slice but the crumbs taste so delicious, we don't mind the extra tidbits! Keeps well, if they don't get eaten quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cranberry Pistachio Biscotti

Authentic Italian biscotti with distinct, surprising flavors.

Biscotti

Watch how to make to make this top-rated Italian cookie recipe.

White Chocolate Macadamia Cranberry Dreams

These soft buttery treats make terrific holiday cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States