Cranberry Almond Biscotti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
I was given a very similar recipe some years ago which I loved. This is very good biscotti which is easy to make and not too bad for you. I just made this today for my Christmas baking and since I plan to make some orange cranberry drop cookies, I instead used 1 teaspoon vanilla, 1 teaspoon lemon extract and slivered almonds (I like slivered better than sliced). I left out the cranberries. They are very good -a nice, subtle flavor and the perfect cookie to go with tea. We love 'em! Merry Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Napa, California, USA
Living In: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2005
Perfect recipe. I used a little bit of butter on my hands when shaping the two loaves and that worked beautifully. This is an excellent recipe and I would highly recommend it. Don't change a thing other than making a different variation such as orange peel and chopped dates, maybe???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Zebulon, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2005
Excellent! I forgot to put the cranberries and almonds in, but I had already put the logs onto the cookie sheet, so I sprinkled some almonds on top (I had used almond extract) and baked them anyway. Then I made a second batch with the cranberries and almonds and vanilla extract, and both turned out very very good! HINTS: 1.) Like the previous reviewer said, just knead the dough before shaping it, making it all stick together. That adds a little love to the recipe too, I'm sure it makes it taste extra special :) 2.) Try using SUGAR instead of flour to cover the surface you shape it on. This gives it a nice crystallized, slightly sweet texture to the outside and gives it the extra "oomph" that separates it from other biscotti recipes! THANKS for a great recipe - I'll be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2005
When I first made these, I had never done biscotti before, and I was afraid they would be a flop, but they were GREAT! I used the almond extract, and the only thing you need to do to these that is not in the recipie is to knead them for a few minutes when they are in the two seperate logs, or else the dough is a bit crumbly and unmanagable. I have made these twice now, and the second time, I dipped oneend in chocolate and gave them away to friends around the holidays, so pretty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2004
I really liked this recipe, very nice! I added the 1 Tbsp. of almond extract, wonderful flavor. They didn't even crumble when I cut them into slices! :) I am giving them to my friends for Christmas gifts in little pretty gift boxes, and the little dried cranberries look very festive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2004
I substituted three quarters of the sugar with Splenda with excellent results. They are outstanding!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NHORAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Merrimack, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2004
I have made these Biscotti repeatedly with outstanding results. I make them gluten free and they are easily adapted to GF starches with the addition of xantham gum. They are crumbly to slice but the crumbs taste so delicious, we don't mind the extra tidbits! Keeps well, if they don't get eaten quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2004
This recipe was very tasty and easy to make. I will make it again. Next time I will use less cranberries...I am not particularly crazy about them, but like a little bit of the flavor. I might also try toasting the almonds first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2004
This was my 1st time making biscotti and was extremly pleased! My husband who is not a sweets eater is already asking for more and so are my kids. Took your advice and replaced vanilla extract w/almond. Thanks for a great recipe! I'm on my way to make more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2002
This was my 1st time making biscotti and although it had a nice taste, I found the texture of the batter too crumbly that I had to add some water to make it form a log. Upon baking, then I found it crumbling as I was trying to slice. All in all, a good tasting recipe - the right festive ingredients for a nice Christmas homemade gift.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Pistachio Biscotti

Authentic Italian biscotti with distinct, surprising flavors.

Biscotti

Watch how to make to make this top-rated Italian cookie recipe.

White Chocolate Macadamia Cranberry Dreams

These soft buttery treats make terrific holiday cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States