Cranberry Almond Biscotti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
I doubt if I'd make this recipe again. I used the almond flavoring. The dough came out too dry. I had to add a tablespoon of water to it to get it to stick together. The cookies stuck to the foil on which I baked them at first; then they stuck to the cookie pan without the foil on the second baking. They came out rock hard. I know biscotti are supposed to be somewhat hard, but mine came out like bricks. They tasted pretty good, but not spectacular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SQUEAKYCHU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
Mine turned out really crumbly in the dough stage, and seem not to have cooked all the way on the second baking. Help?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
First time making biscotti, and I was very happy. Used almond extract instead of vanilla and added 1 tbsp of orange zest. CRUNCHY biscotti with great flavor. I sliced when loaves came out of oven with good success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
I have tried this recipe twice, then tweaked it so it was not so dry and flaky. I added fresh orange zest and a few Tbsp of the juice too plus coconut flakes and left out the nuts and cranberries. It turned out wonderful!! Dipped in dark chocolate to compliment the orange flavor made them so tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Made two batches today. Liked the one better with almond extract.as opposed to vanilla. I used pistachios and cranberries. I'm considering dipping them in semi sweet chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
The BIG problem I had with this recipe was telling you to let it cool before cutting it up. Most everyone knows the consistency of biscotti... they're hard and brittle. If you let them cool and THEN cut them, they'll shatter. You HAVE HAVE HAVE to cut them fresh out of the oven before they start to set. They're like "crispy" chocolate chip cookies... gooey at first then as they cool, they harden so you're limited on time. Otherwise, The recipe was pretty good. I couldn't find my quartered almond pieces, but I added LOTS of dried cranberries so I'm afraid the extra solids in the cookie may have made them hard to stay together... not sure though. I would have added them, if I could have found them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tea Berries
Home Town: Kodiak, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2013
Great recipe... they're still warm from the oven and I've eaten three... I made these according to directions for oven temp, bake time, and ingredients. The only thing I added was cornmeal for the extra 1/4 cup of flour and the zest of two lemons. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Durham, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Cameron, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
Great recipe.. I melted dark chocolate chips in a pie tin in the residual oven heat after I removed the biscotti and dipped the cookies on the long flat side. I used cranberries and almonds, but am going to try with mini chocolate chips and walnuts next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kimberly, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
I took another reviewer's advice and cut the biscotti right out of the oven without letting it cool; it worked perfectly. The biscotti is very crunchy and tastes delicious. Next I am going to try orange zest with almonds. I can't wait to enjoy it with some coffee in the morning and ice cream at night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
Made this the other day and am very pleased with how they came out. Love that it has no fats/oils/salt. I replaced 3/4C of the white flour with whole wheat and added walnuts instead of almonds. My family really enjoyed them and I'm making another batch right now to bring to my sister who lives 4hrs away. The use of a pizza cutter really makes cutting these a breeze! I've never made biscotti before this xmas and I'm hooked! Oh, another thing about this recipe is that you can use the basic ingredients and add anything under the sun. Enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne Rosier

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Pistachio Biscotti

Authentic Italian biscotti with distinct, surprising flavors.

Biscotti

Watch how to make to make this top-rated Italian cookie recipe.

White Chocolate Macadamia Cranberry Dreams

These soft buttery treats make terrific holiday cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States