Cranapana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
I'm so glad someone pointed out this calls for self-rising flour. I always overlook things like that. I thought this turned out great. I substituted a pear for the apple and really liked the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
Good and hearty bread. Nice way to use up a single banana that is past it's prime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
Happy with the bread. I also shorted the sugar like other reviewers advised. I would have liked to taste more apple. It is a good simple recipe & I supervised my 8 year old when he made it for the school fair & he won the 1st prize in the bread category.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Poland, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
I made this recipe exactly as printed however it did not cook through. There is no mention of baking soda or baking powder which obviously is needed. I wasted all the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2006
Self rising flour? Too late for that! I used baking flour, and the bread didn't rise at all--it was just a hard, doughy lump!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
My husbands favorite bread was banana bread up until we had this. He said it is his new favorite. We bake them in Pampered Chef's mini loaf stone and add a few Baker's Choco Chunks to the batter. I also grease and sugar the pan. It is definately a SWEET bread, so don't think of it as a breakfast bread or even a healthy bread. It just tastes so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Webb City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2006
This is fantastic, is moist and dense and that is exactly what i wanted for this breakfast bread. I used less sugar as a previos person did and I am happy with the results. I also made it in a brownie pan instead of a bread pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2006
The bread would not cook for me. I doubled the time just about, and it was still gooey in the center. Aside from still being raw, it was very dense. I was disappointed that I had to throw everything (time, money, ingredients) in the garbage. The worst part was that I doubled the recipe without trying it first. Maybe it was a problem with my flour. Or maybe there should be salt added to the recipe. I don't think I'll try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MinxyBaby

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
"moist, flavorful quick bread" is a perfect description for this recipe. I reduced the amount of sugar in 1/2, to make it more "bread" like, and still came out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2005
Not bad, but the flavor wasn't great. It was also a little too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States