Cranapana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
Good bread. Didn't have fresh cranberries, so used dried and it came out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wyomom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
Made my own self-rising flour, but followed the recipe. My husband and I are huge fans of this bread. The cranberries add such nice color and tartness to this wonderful, moist banana bread. I had a few bad bananas, one slightly bruised apple, and some leftover cranberries in this freezer. I never suspected that I would find a recipe to use all of them up and taste so good, and that's why I love using the ingredient finder on this site!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
I thought this was very dry even though I used an extra banana. I won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellydancer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Photo by moxie & mirth
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Took 65 minutes in my oven, but this bread turned out perfectly. RECIPE CALLS FOR SELF-RISING FLOUR- please pay attention before under-rating a recipe. If you don't have self-rising flour, which I never do... use 1 1/2 tsp baking powder and 1/3 tsp salt PER CUP of flour called for. Voila! Instant self-rising flour. Because of the mixed reviews, I made this recipe exactly as written (except using half whole-wheat and half all-purpose, because that's just what I do). So I can tell you for sure, there is nothing wrong with this recipe. At all. The time is fine, the ingredients are right on, the texture of the finished product is good... I even posted a photo as proof. It's a muffin-y kind of bread, like banana bread is. Sweet and tart and great with a schmear of cream cheese. PS - someone suggested adding spices, and although I didn't, I might next time, just for a change. But really, it's fine as it is - a sweet fruity bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moxie & mirth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Since several people said they could not get the bread done, I decided to bake them in a muffin tin and they turned out beautifully! I sprayed the pan generously with Baker's Joy and baked them at 350 degrees for 18 minutes. Just start testing at 18 minutes, since all ovens are not alike. I used my mixer to make the primary batter, because stirring just wasn't getting it smooth; I then stirred in the fruits. Filling the pans about 3/4 full will yield 18 muffins. Since that's too many for two people, I placed the remaining ones in a plastic bag in the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
This was SO yummy! I used half whole wheat flour, and added chopped pecans in the mix and on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Excellent. All you have to do is either use self-rising flour or look on allrecipes.com for the substitute ... duh! Living in one of the top cranberry producing states, I had to try out the recipe - lovely recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
This recipe has been underrated. If you read the recipe carefully and FOLLOW THE DIRECTIONS it will turn out perfectly. You do have to allow for oven differences. My oven is pretty close to perfectly calibrated, but even then, it varies by 10-20 degrees during a baking cycle. Buy an oven thermometer and resist the urge to open the door repeatedly (this drops the temp up to 25 degrees each time.) I followed this recipe to the letter. I checked the bread at 50 minutes and promptly gave it the remaining 10 minutes the recipe called for. At that check, I decided to give it 4 more minutes (total bake time 64 minutes). I let it sit for 10 minutes before removing it from the pan and cooling completely on a rack. The resulting bread is delicious, moist, and fruity. I didn't feel that cinnamon or other spices were necessary with three different types of fruit. The fruit is one variable that could affect the outcome. The recipe calls for 1 apple and 1 banana. Go for medium sized fruit here, and use fresh or frozen cranberries, not dried. And for Heaven's sake USE SELF-RISING FLOUR. I was amazed reading other reviews that people used regular flour, then rated the recipe one star because it didn't rise. I will definitely be making this again, and I hope that others won't be afraid to try it due to a few negative reviews. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
Changed cranberries to cherries, reduced sugar by a bit, added two shakes of cinnamon, one shake of nutmeg and one of cloves. Oh - used granny smith apple to keep nice and tart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lilly O.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
I'm so glad someone pointed out this calls for self-rising flour. I always overlook things like that. I thought this turned out great. I substituted a pear for the apple and really liked the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States