Cranapana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
This bread is very tasty. I substituted one cup of whole wheat flour for one of the cups of self-rise flour--added 1-12 teaspoons of baking powder and 1/4 teaspoon of salt to make the wheat flour self-rising. I also added 1/2 cup of chopped pecans to add some protein. I had to bake the bread for 75 minutes because of the high altitude in the Denver area. The bread is very dense and firm. I will make it again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
I wanted to make a bread that was not too sweet, to have with a cup of coffeee or tea...This is it! I used crushed pineapple instead of the apple, and cranraisins with pomegranate juice instead of the cranberries because it's what I had on hand. The flavor was fantastic, it had consistency and cooked in a cinvecton oven for 65 minutes at 325, I will definetly make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Silvina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
Another great quick bread that uses apples, bananas and cranberries. Not having self-rising flour, I made my own with a recipe from this site and it worked perfectly. Rather than one large loaf of bread I put this in 3-mini loaf pans, two with nuts, one without. Since the pans were smaller, they were done baking in about 40 minutes. My family's favorite way to eat quick breads is toasted. This bread was no exception. They enjoyed it as bread, but the majority of it was toasted. This also froze and thawed nicely. Definitely a bread worth trying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
This was really easy to make. I left my apples in huge chunks added vanilla and left out the oil. Thought I had cranberries in the freezer but didn't so those got left out too. I will for sure add them the next time I make this. will also try cooking for 5o mins. instead of an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Olivia Foxfire

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seguin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
I used all purpose flour, 1tsp salt & 3 3/4 tsp baking powder. Another change was to use about 1 1/2 cups of cranberries and to cover them with the cup of sugar and let sit for about 15 min. Then I cut up one banana (used 2 total) and tossed it in with the cranberries as well as 1 cup of walnuts (didn't use the apple). Ended up making 6 large muffins and 1 mini loaf. Came out .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
This bread is fantastic and deserves more than five stars. It rose beautifully and tastes delicious. You MUST USE SELF-RISING FLOUR! It's not merely a suggestion. I only had all-purpose flour so I measured it out and added 3 TBS baking powder and 3/4 tsp salt to make my own self-rising flour. The batter is thick and there is a lot of fruit, but if you mix in the banana first, it loosens up the batter a bit and makes it easier to mix in the apples and cranberries. I added the zest of one lime to brighten up the flavor and some ground flax seed for nutrition. This will be a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
This recipe is great. The fruit to dough ratio is frankly alarming---it's actually hard to mix in all those fruit pieces, and the final product has two kinds in every bite! I used half a cup of mandarin oranges and only half the apple, and added some extra cranberries and a tsp of cinnamon. I also used only half the sugar, and needed to add just slightly more liquid than the recipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
I used blueberry flavored dried cranberries, a bit less sugar and oil. Really nice blend of flavor with a bright note not normally found in banana breads
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
Delicious and uses items on hand (especially the ripe bananas in the freezer). Used recipe from this site to make self rising flour (very easy). A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ozone Park, New York, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by marljong
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
Perfect sweet, tart snack--scrumptious and easy! Used 1/4 cup of butter, grated Granny apple, extra 1/2 cup cranberries. Baked it in a bundt pan and baked at 325* for 60 mins. Next time, I will incorporate pineapples...yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marljong

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Mateo, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States