Cranana Jam Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2002
When I tasted this jam, I thought I'd died and gone to heaven - it's THAT good! I gave a jar to my brother, and he said it was the best jam he'd ever tasted! Really easy to make, too. (But let it start to set before you put into jars, or the banana floats to the top!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessica Kimble
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
This is the yummiest jam I've ever tasted! This was my first attempt at canning anything and it was so easy. I used a waterbath canner and processed the jars for 10 minutes in it. The amazing thing about this jam is that it really, really, really does taste like strawberry! This is perfect for my stepdaughter who is allergic to strawberry but loves the taste of strawberries! I would let it set for about 3 minutes before pouring into jars just because my first poured jar had the banana and jelly part seperate a bit, but all the rest were perfect, so I'm thinking the pectin just needs a moment to set before you begin pouring. If you mash your bananas up well, it mixes just fine, and comes out a lovely rosy red color perfect for the holidays! This is a great first recipe for someone who has never attempted a jam before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Kimble

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warsaw, Missouri, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
If you've never made jam before, start with this recipe. The ingredients do the work themselves. The result is beautiful, delicious and unique. I have made bunches of this for Christmas gifts! To can: wait for jam to gel a bit (this took mine about 45 minutes,) put jam in your canning jars, place in large pot, fill with water to one inch above lids, and boil 15 minutes. Remove and place on towel to dry. The lids will suction down while cooling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymeggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2006
Great taste and easy recipe. I found it to be a bit too sweet so I may cut the sugar next time. Also, I didn't taste banana at all. I thought this jam tasted more like strawberry than cranberry - maybe because it's so sweet? Also, after the initial 10 simmer of the cranberries, they were still mostly whole so I mashed them up with a spoon. Maybe that's the difference? Possibly, if I had left them whole, I would have gotten a more tart taste and would have been able to distinguish between the banana and the cranberry. But, since I mashed the cranberries, they just blended with the bananas and created a strawberry taste. Overall a good, quick and easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2005
This is such a beautiful jam that if it didn't taste so well, I would never open it! But the taste is so good I can't resist! I am wrapping these up for Christmas gifts ... makes 5 half pint jars. I was not sure if I would like this recipe because I am not crazy about cranberries but I am sure glad I tried this recipe out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2001
I've made this jam for several years to give as holiday gifts. My friends eagerly look forward to it--and some even place "orders" long before cranberry season arrives!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
I make lots of different fruit jams, this is a nice addition as it uses different fruit. We like the fruit taste without the pectin. Skip the water. General rule is one cup sugar to one cup fruit, adjust based on if fruit is sweat or tart. Chop up the cranberries before you measure them, this gives a better measurement and you don't have whole cerrberryy skins.. I had 3 cups of berries so used 4 cups of sugar, figured the bananas did not need much sugar. Cook the cranberries with just the sugar ( it will liook dry but as soon it starts heating there will be plenty of juice). Add a pat of butter and turn the heat down to prevent foam. Cook until translucent an thichened them add the bananas for the last minute. No pectin required. If you boil your jars and lid, you can put in the hot jam, add the lid and it will seal. Being doing that for 50 years and the jam wiil keep for over a year.... If you don't eat it first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Humboldt, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Rockport, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
Good starter recipe. As is, way too sweet but it's easily bendable to cut the sugar back, if you so choose. Which I did. That's really the only issue I had was just too much sugar. Very simple, so simple that I was able to make this with my youngest son and really have no issues at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2004
I absolutely ADORE this recipe! I had never tried making my own jam before, so chose this one because it sounded easy -- I never expected it to be so delicious! When cranberries are out of season, they can easily be substituted with raspberries (fresh or frozen), which also taste amazing with the banans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
I came across this recipe after my daughter started bringing home over ripe fruit that would otherwise be trashed, and buy cranberries when in season for another fantastic recipe on here. The first batch I cooked as directed but was not so keen on using the pectin and it was a bit on the sweet side but still delicous, the second batch I made today I doubled the recipe and didnt use pectin and halfed the sugar and its still delicous... have had rave reviews from neighbors. I use pint jars since my opnion is that half pints can be used in one setting.. Thanks Barbara for this wonderful recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Cranana Jam

See how to make delicious homemade jam with cranberries and bananas.

How to Make Strawberry Freezer Jam

See how to make super-simple strawberry freezer jam from scratch.

How to Make Strawberry Jam

This recipe for fresh jam couldn't be easier—just three basic ingredients!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States