Cranana Jam Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2006
Great taste and easy recipe. I found it to be a bit too sweet so I may cut the sugar next time. Also, I didn't taste banana at all. I thought this jam tasted more like strawberry than cranberry - maybe because it's so sweet? Also, after the initial 10 simmer of the cranberries, they were still mostly whole so I mashed them up with a spoon. Maybe that's the difference? Possibly, if I had left them whole, I would have gotten a more tart taste and would have been able to distinguish between the banana and the cranberry. But, since I mashed the cranberries, they just blended with the bananas and created a strawberry taste. Overall a good, quick and easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2006
This simple recipe seemed perfect for a first time jam maker; but, just to be sure, I only made half of a batch. Big mistake, it was all gone within a couple of days. I was surprised how many people really liked this jam. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2005
This is such a beautiful jam that if it didn't taste so well, I would never open it! But the taste is so good I can't resist! I am wrapping these up for Christmas gifts ... makes 5 half pint jars. I was not sure if I would like this recipe because I am not crazy about cranberries but I am sure glad I tried this recipe out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
everyone that tried this loved it something a little different to do with cranberries. Very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2005
I just made this jam. It has excellent flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2005
Superfast, super easy and super yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pocatello, Idaho, USA
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2004
This was yummy. I would suggest straining the cranberries out because they're a little tart when you leave them in, and they also all float to the top of the jar and make for a strange presentation. Really yummy though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2004
I absolutely ADORE this recipe! I had never tried making my own jam before, so chose this one because it sounded easy -- I never expected it to be so delicious! When cranberries are out of season, they can easily be substituted with raspberries (fresh or frozen), which also taste amazing with the banans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2002
When I tasted this jam, I thought I'd died and gone to heaven - it's THAT good! I gave a jar to my brother, and he said it was the best jam he'd ever tasted! Really easy to make, too. (But let it start to set before you put into jars, or the banana floats to the top!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2001
I've made this jam for several years to give as holiday gifts. My friends eagerly look forward to it--and some even place "orders" long before cranberry season arrives!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Cranana Jam

See how to make delicious homemade jam with cranberries and bananas.

How to Make Strawberry Freezer Jam

See how to make super-simple strawberry freezer jam from scratch.

How to Make Strawberry Jam

This recipe for fresh jam couldn't be easier—just three basic ingredients!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States