Cranana Jam Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
Loved this jam... I actually made this last winter and forgot to rate it. I gave it for gifts along with a spiced apple jelly and this was the favorite by far. It has a strawberry-ish flavor, and sets up wonderfully... firm, but easy to spread at the same time. I can't wait for it to get cold again cause this one is a definite repeat in my house. Thanks for sharing a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
A wonderful surprise. The only thing that I would change next time I make it is to cut the sugar back by about 1/3
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
Interesting taste and a great use of my nanners..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marla Ann

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
I tried this recipe as I had left over cranberries and ripe bananas in the fridge. I agree with the other reviewers--this is and easy and fast, interesting use of these ingredients. Next time I make it I will add less sugar, as it is overly sweet for my taste and I will add more lemon and maybe some lemon peel/slices, ala marmalade, if the jam is still too sweet with reduced sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
This jam is great! My first attempt at making jam or canning anything, so simple and tasty. I wanted a more consistant color and texture so i wisked it smooth, rather than just stirring it together. Lovely color and flavor. Great gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Oak Harbor, Washington, USA
Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
If you've never made jam before, start with this recipe. The ingredients do the work themselves. The result is beautiful, delicious and unique. I have made bunches of this for Christmas gifts! To can: wait for jam to gel a bit (this took mine about 45 minutes,) put jam in your canning jars, place in large pot, fill with water to one inch above lids, and boil 15 minutes. Remove and place on towel to dry. The lids will suction down while cooling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymeggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
Tasted really good, I tasted alot of banana which mine were pretty ripe which made them easier to mash, but next time if they are super ripe I may just use a little less then called for... One thing I will say use ALOT bigger pot then you think you'll need because when it starts to boil it goes to town and you don't want to boil over... oh my what a mess that could be.. lol..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mlshannon

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
The only thing I will change for the next batch is to decrease the bananas and sugar and increase the cranberries. Good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nick

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Chaska, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
Ive been making jam for years, and this is by far the best tasting jam I have ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: Astoria, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
Just a note about a recipe similar or the same as this one: The University of Alaska Extension Recipe Booklet for Wild Berries Recipes had this recipe, which was called Cranberry Banana Jam, and it was made with the local lingonberries (low-bush cranberries) that grow native to parts of Alaska. I think some of the problems noted in the review with big cranberries would be eliminated using the smaller berries, so it makes sense that at least a similar recipe came from Alaska. The first time I saw this recipe was when I moved there in 1970, and it was still in the last booklet I had when I left in 1998. I agree, it is a great recipe. btw, my signature gift was wild rose petal jelly, also made from the same booklet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Post Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cranana Jam

See how to make delicious homemade jam with cranberries and bananas.

How to Make Strawberry Freezer Jam

See how to make super-simple strawberry freezer jam from scratch.

How to Make Strawberry Jam

This recipe for fresh jam couldn't be easier—just three basic ingredients!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States