Cranana Jam Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Mrs. Forsman
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
Amazingly good jam! A Keeper! :) Thanks Barbara.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Forsman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
This jam is the best!! My Husband gave them out for Christmas gifts ,and one of the replies was "Your wife needs to sell this at craft shows". I put little caps over the covers and they really looked nice!! Thank you for the wonderful recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
My first jam! Success! Per other reviews, I decreased the sugar to 5 cups and it was plenty sweet. I might even try 4 cups next time. Not quite as red as the photo but next time I'll try skimming more of the bubbles off the top. Still a pretty deep pink and delicious! Made 8 6oz. jars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
I just got done making the jam, very unique, and interesting flavor. I used powderd pectin and boiled it with water to use.it was very easy to make, and the jam set up very nicely. I made some in jelly jar containers, and some in pint containers for us. Giving away some in xmas baskets filled with homemade gifts in jars. Thanks for posting, can hardly wait to try on some toast in the morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hartstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
I like the concept, but it was way too sweet (I'm used to making low sugar jam) and the tartness of the cranberries didn't come through like I'd hoped. All I tasted was banana. I might try again with low sugar pectin and less banana. We'll see.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Visalia, California, USA
Living In: Rehoboth, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
This is the perfect recipe for a first time canner like myself. Easy, not too complicated, or too many ingredients. And the taste is great!! Appreciated the tip about letting it set before putting in jars or bananas float to the top, I had that problem the first time and thought I'd ruined it. But a quick stir and it is just fine. Today was second stab at it, and had better luck with it. This is good stuff!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
If I could give 3 1/2 stars I would. I tried this recipe thinking it would be perfect for gifts at Thanksgiving dinner. Unfortunately, the dominate taste is that of bananas!? After reading other people's reviews I decided to cut back on the sugar, and used 3 1/2 cups sugar and 1 cup Splenda....and also cut down on the bananas, which I mashed with a fork the first time and found them a bit too big, so I mashed them well for the second batch and they looked much better when jarred!...I used 1 1/2 cups of bananas instead of the recommended 2 cups. This helped the flavor of the cranberries shine through a little but still was not anything to write home about. The first batch made 8- 8oz jelly jars and the second (filled a smidgen fuller) made 7- 8 oz jelly jars. I did find that following some other cooks suggestions I let the second batch set up for approx 5 minutes and this did help in the even distribution of the jam. While I was waiting I did skim the frothy bubbles off the top which made a big difference in the appearance of the second batch!!! It was much brighter and more like the photo. I also flipped the jars about every 15 minutes after the 10 hot water bath and they all set up and the chunks were evenly distributed. I do not think I will make this recipe again but it was fun to try it a couple times. I intend to use it as a topping for whole grain pancakes and on oatmeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TurtleLove

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
I used raspberries instead of cranberries. It's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
Loved this jam... I actually made this last winter and forgot to rate it. I gave it for gifts along with a spiced apple jelly and this was the favorite by far. It has a strawberry-ish flavor, and sets up wonderfully... firm, but easy to spread at the same time. I can't wait for it to get cold again cause this one is a definite repeat in my house. Thanks for sharing a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
A wonderful surprise. The only thing that I would change next time I make it is to cut the sugar back by about 1/3
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cranana Jam

See how to make delicious homemade jam with cranberries and bananas.

How to Make Strawberry Freezer Jam

See how to make super-simple strawberry freezer jam from scratch.

How to Make Strawberry Jam

This recipe for fresh jam couldn't be easier—just three basic ingredients!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States