Cranana Jam Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
Well, I thought this was not very good at all. The texture was ultimately weird and inconsistent, sometimes grainy like cranberry sauce and sometimes jammy. I also thought the cranberry/banana flavors clashed instead of mixing well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
Great flavor!! I modified the cooking times buy following another jam recipe I use quite often...boil the cranberries as directed on this recipe then add the other ingredients aside from the pectin and lemon juice and bring to a full boil for 3 minutes. remove from heat and let cool for 5 minutes. add pectin and lemon juice and stir until well mixed. Let cool for another 2 minutes then stir for 1. process as usual.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
My husband and I make several dozen jars of preserves/jam every year and this was our favorite receipe last year. We will definitely make again this year for Christmas gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
I made this yesterday to have for holiday baskets, saving some in a bowl for husband to try. He Loved this jam!! Now I have to make more for him or hide what I have if I want to keep it for gifts! Like some suggested I only used 5 cups of sugar, but for me it was still a little too sweet, so I may tweek it a liitle more next time. It set up perfectly with no problem at all
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
I came across this recipe after my daughter started bringing home over ripe fruit that would otherwise be trashed, and buy cranberries when in season for another fantastic recipe on here. The first batch I cooked as directed but was not so keen on using the pectin and it was a bit on the sweet side but still delicous, the second batch I made today I doubled the recipe and didnt use pectin and halfed the sugar and its still delicous... have had rave reviews from neighbors. I use pint jars since my opnion is that half pints can be used in one setting.. Thanks Barbara for this wonderful recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
Good starter recipe. As is, way too sweet but it's easily bendable to cut the sugar back, if you so choose. Which I did. That's really the only issue I had was just too much sugar. Very simple, so simple that I was able to make this with my youngest son and really have no issues at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Wow! This is wonderful, This was my first attempt to make jam and it came out great. I gave it out as Christmas Gifts. I did add a few drops of red food coloring, It looked beautiful. Thank you for this recipe. I will be makeing this agein.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Dorn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
good jam. i thought it was way too sweet. My secont time making it i used half the sugar and i still think i could add less but tasted much better. great combination of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by darthotto

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
After reading the reviews, most said not a lot of banana flavor-tasted more like strawberry, I decided to make it. Mine has an extreme banana flavor, but unless you bite into a cranberry that is still "whole" you do taste strawberry. I love the strawberry taste, but not the banana. Mine also had a lot of bubbles in my jar once I poured it in, so mine is not as pretty but I do like it. Just not crazy about the banana.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie Dryden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
I prefer jam with less sugar, so i cut back a bit. Otherwise perfect, the flavor is wonderful. would never have thought of combining banana and cranberries! Make sure you don't boil it for longer than 1 minute after adding the bananas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cranana Jam

See how to make delicious homemade jam with cranberries and bananas.

How to Make Strawberry Freezer Jam

See how to make super-simple strawberry freezer jam from scratch.

How to Make Strawberry Jam

This recipe for fresh jam couldn't be easier—just three basic ingredients!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States