Cran-Raspberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
I love this recipe. I made it once for Thanksgiving and once for Christmas. It was great every time. It is a nice twist on raspberry pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwood, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
This was a huge hit at Christmas dinner and went very fast!! Next year I will have to make two!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
Five stars for "holy yum- you need to try this pie!". All of the pie fans at my family's Thanksgiving dinner loved this one . Just saying "cranberry- raspberry" piqued interest, and it lived up - the colors are so pretty and the flavor is just incredible. I followed the recipe to the letter, with the exception of adding a few teaspoons extra tapioca for safe measure. Runny pies make me cry! I used a full top crust brushed with milk and some dusting sugar, it turned out to be a good decision- the filling is quite tart- a good (and plentiful) crust lends balance. Given the fact that I'm now finding myself dreaming of this pie, I put a few extra bags of cranberries in the freezer. I plan to make this for a Christmas dinner with a different group of folks, and make an extra one so I can have one here. That is, if I can wait that long....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ErinW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brookville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Made the pie yesterday and it was fantastic and so easy. The entire family loved it. I ended up substituting a couple of items due to not having and cost. I hate to buy something just for a tablespoon when I do use it often. Used 1/4 cup of cornstarch instead of tapioca, pie set very well no excess liquid. Used 4 ozs (small container) raspberries and 2 apples, and used 1 teaspoon of vanilla instead of the almond extract (I can not stand almond anything). I did let the pie cook for a full hour. This is a tart pie, rhubarb is the family favorite. It was better this morning for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
I made this for my son's birthday when I couldn't find Marionberries. It had the same tangy flavor and the color was fabulous. A bright raspberry-red. Very appetizing. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
Delicious! The only change I made was to use 1/2 cup or Agave syrup in exchange for the sugar. Agave is much sweeter than sugar, so you don't have to use as much. It turned out a tad runny (b/c of the Agave), so next time I'll increase the tapioca by maybe 1/2 tbsp. Otherwise, this recipe is going to be a staple over the fall and winter seasons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
I couldn't find cranberries, so I followed another reviewer's advise and substituted fresh strawberries. The pie turned out beautiful but when we sliced it, it was way too wet and just ended up having to be splotched onto our plates. What a mess! Luckily, it still tasted great (although a little too sweet, likely cause of the strawberries).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
This pie is phenomenal. Really tart but really good. Also incredibly easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Care
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
We have been making this now for 3 years and it has become a Thanksgiving MUST HAVE for my family. You can adjust the tartness by adding more or less sugar. We prefer it a little more tart because I make my crust sweeter(by adding more sugar) and add large sanding sugar to the top of an egg wash. The sanding sugar also makes for a gorgeous presentation as well as a little crunch on the crust which is unexpected!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Care

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
Pretty tart
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States