Crackle Top Molasses Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 20, 2000
This recipe is excellent! I had a similar recipe 25 years ago, and lost it during a move. Been trying to find a "near duplicate" since. This on gets my vote. thanks, Sweetpooch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2005
The batter seemed gross and i was disappointed, but when the finished product came out of the oven i was thrilled!!! this is a great recipie!! awesome with vanilla ice cream!!!! dont get discouraged with the strong molasses smell in the batter...with all ingredients its excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
This is one of the best cookie recipes ever. Much better than that other recipe with 500 ratings in that its easier. So easy. I dont find the oil gross at all and it makes the cookies moist. This is my third time making these. I add fresh ginger along side the dried and ground. Vegan of course. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
I've made a few cookies that have oil in the recipe, but none like this! These were fabulous and present so beautifully w/the crackled top. Used 1/2 c. each of brown and white sugar. Added some vanilla and 1/2 tsp. salt. I like things very spicy, and although I used slightly heaping measurements of the spices, I didn't double them and they were perfect and in the right proportions. These somehow have a buttery taste to them. soft but not a cakey cookie, crisp around the edges, the molasses flavor comes through nicely and is not covered up by spice. you can tell the molasses is in there. thanks so much for this wonderful recipe when one doesn't have enough butter or shortening. I should add that I have found in the past that a cookie made w/oil will tend to get a bit hard or crisp by the next day. Just stick a slice of bread in the cookie jar to keep them soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
I went with this recipe because the grocery store was closed and I had a limited supply of butter, but lots of oil. I made the recipe as is except I did use 2/3c white sugar and 1/3 c of brown sugar. You MUST only cook these for 8-10 minutes if you want chewy cookies. I burned the 2nd batch. The rest were great, a little crispy the 1st night but PERFECT the second night. My husband and everyone else loved these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Starkville, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Leavenworth, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2004
This recipe is yummy - just the right mix of spice and sweetness. I reduced the time to 10 minutes for a convection oven and they turned out slightly crispy around the edges and chewy in the middle. I was looking for a recipe for my son who is allergic to milk and soy and he loves them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2003
BEST I HAVE EVER HAD!! MY GRAMMY PASSED AWAY JULY 13, 2003 AND MY MOM SAYS THESE ARE JUST LIKE SHE USED TO MAKE!! YUMMO LAURIE!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abby Zeek

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pemberville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Haskins, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2007
Loved these! I did increase the ginger to 2 tsp. and cooked them for 10 min. as some reviews had stated, but otherwise this is a wonderful recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Credit, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2004
The cookies are wonderful but be carefull of the timing or you will have burnt cookies. I found that 7 minutes was enough time.Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2004
Awesome! All the flavor of a ginger snap but soft and chewy. I followed the recipe exactly. I did need to add about 1/4 cup of flour to the dough, baked for 11 minutes and WOW! Thank you for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 272) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States