Crackle Top Molasses Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
These were SO GOOD! I followed some other suggestions and here's what I ended up using: 2/3 cup canola oil; 1/2 cup white sugar; 1/2 cup brown sugar; 1 egg; 1/4 cup molasses; 1 cup all-purpose flour; 1 cup whole wheat flour; 2 t. baking soda; 1/4 t. salt; 1 t. ground cinnamon; 1 heaping t. ground ginger; 1 t. vanilla; 1/2 heaping t. ground cloves; 1/3 cup sugar (for rolling dough balls). I baked them for 10 minutes. They turned out perfectly. This is definitely going in my recipe box!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
183 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
These are the BEST molasses cookies ever! I like them better then any store bought or bakery bought molasses cookies that I have tried. The key to making these soft and chewy in the middle is to cool them on wax paper rather then a cooling rack. Cooling them on a rack allows cold air to circulate around and through the cookie as it cools, which causes them to become crunchy. If you cool on wax paper no air gets THROUGH the cookie so they stay warm longer and doughy inside. This tip works well for Chocolate chip and sugar cookies too. Try these, they are wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
140 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
I've made a few cookies that have oil in the recipe, but none like this! These were fabulous and present so beautifully w/the crackled top. Used 1/2 c. each of brown and white sugar. Added some vanilla and 1/2 tsp. salt. I like things very spicy, and although I used slightly heaping measurements of the spices, I didn't double them and they were perfect and in the right proportions. These somehow have a buttery taste to them. soft but not a cakey cookie, crisp around the edges, the molasses flavor comes through nicely and is not covered up by spice. you can tell the molasses is in there. thanks so much for this wonderful recipe when one doesn't have enough butter or shortening. I should add that I have found in the past that a cookie made w/oil will tend to get a bit hard or crisp by the next day. Just stick a slice of bread in the cookie jar to keep them soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
First batch, pretty good, but second batch (with alterations) -- Delicious! I decreased the ginger to 1/2 tsp because it overpowered the molasses. I decreased the white sugar to 3/4 cup and added 1/4 cup of brown sugar. NOTE: These were perfect when I took these out of the oven after 6-7 minutes. At 8 minutes, they had burned. Once they were perfected, I made these for a party and everyone raved over them. My husband says they taste like Christmas. ONE OF THE BEST COOKIES I HAVE EVER EATEN!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mellie7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2007
So yummy! My mom LOVES these cookies and I made them for her birthday. I like how they're so chewy and not cake-like like other recipes on here. The stated baking time is definitely too much. I think 10 minutes is just fine unless you want harder, crispy cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2007
I discovered this recipe when I used the ingredients search to rule out recipes that required butter, margarine, or shortening. As it turns out, it was a blessing. I will definitely add these cookies to my repertoire along with snickerdoodles and chocolate chip cookies. I didn't change anything (even though I was tempted to) other than taking them out after 10 minutes and doubling the recipe. I would definitely recommend doubling the recipe as you will undoubtedly have the demand for them. I have since made a vegan version, using egg replacer, and these cookies were equally good. Both my teens (the vegan and non-vegan) love them! These cookies are amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
These cookies are gorgeous, just like the ginger biscuits I used to buy from the gingerbread shop in Ashbourne, England. I did make a couple of changes. I used butter instead of vegetable oil (never been too fond of anything other than butter in cookies) and I also doubled the spices. I did use another reviewers advice and let cool on wax paper rather than a rack. I made 14 large size cookies from this batch which were crunchy on the onside but so chewy inside. The aroma in the kitchen was heavenly! I will certainly be making these again and again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
Molassses Sugar Cookies. This is what our recipe is named. I've been making this cookie for YEARS...from a recipe that belonged to my grandma. Only diff in mine is I use no cloves, and there is a bit of salt added. Oh...and never never would I add vanilla to this cookie - the molasses and ginger and cinnamon are the stars here. Also the bake time is a bit long here - I never bake for more than 10 minutes, and usually take them out at 9. We like these soft and chewy, so if you do as well, then you won't want to bake them for over 10 minutes. This is an AWESOME cookie and has always been a favorite in my household. EDIT** This recipe identical to the Ginger Crinkles recipe here, except for these have cloves. I would think that both cookies would be deelish - but the cloves would provide a bit of a spicier cookie. You can't go wrong with either one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2007
The only things I changed with these cookies was the cooking time, I reduced it by four minutes because I didn't want crispy cookies, and I didn't have vegetable oil, so I used olive oil. They came out great! (and possibly healthier?) This was my first time making these kind of cookies and I was very surprised at how easy it was to make them, I will definitely make these again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kdoug

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monterey, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2007
These are very good and so easy. Next time I'll probably add a bit more spice - perhaps a bit of nutmeg. They're yummy right out of the oven, and will probably be even tastier after a few hours to give the flavors more time to blend. This recipe is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 262) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Rainbow Cookies

See how to make moist, layered cookies loaded with almond flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States