Crackle Top Molasses Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
This is the best recipe for making "special" cookies I have ever used. Friends and family alike agree. I use coconut oil, which makes these babies taste perfect! For vegan cookies, try using 1/4 cup applesauce mixed with a tablespoon of cornstarch and a little water instead of the egg. And instead of sugar on top, which makes these a little too sweet, try hulled hemp seeds. DELISH
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
These were excellent! I doubled the recipe and was so glad I did. The only change I made was I used half white sugar and half brown sugar. Oh, and I did double the cinnamon. I baked them for 12 minutes and they were still chewy three days later! If you like chewy cookies, you'll love these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
I have to disagree with other reviewers as I don't think these cookies are as tasty as other molasses recipes that are shortening/butter/margarine based. These are much dryer. Not going to keep this in the recipe file.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
These cookie are AWESOME !!! The only thing i changed was i left out the ground cloves and used pumpkin pie spice instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
Molassses Sugar Cookies. This is what our recipe is named. I've been making this cookie for YEARS...from a recipe that belonged to my grandma. Only diff in mine is I use no cloves, and there is a bit of salt added. Oh...and never never would I add vanilla to this cookie - the molasses and ginger and cinnamon are the stars here. Also the bake time is a bit long here - I never bake for more than 10 minutes, and usually take them out at 9. We like these soft and chewy, so if you do as well, then you won't want to bake them for over 10 minutes. This is an AWESOME cookie and has always been a favorite in my household. EDIT** This recipe identical to the Ginger Crinkles recipe here, except for these have cloves. I would think that both cookies would be deelish - but the cloves would provide a bit of a spicier cookie. You can't go wrong with either one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Made it just as stated in the recipe and these cookies are delicious. I'm surprised there's no salt in this recipe. I'll be making these regularly. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bcrocker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
These were so easy to make and so tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
A home run! EVERYONE who tasted these cookies raved about them! Baking 6-7 minutes was perfect. Using the proportions as shown, this recipe made 2 1/2 dozen cookies, not 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
These came out perfect! Made them for a bake sale, and had to stop my 7 year old from eating them up. A big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BN61079

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mendon, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Milford, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
these are the best ginger cookies I've ever made. Simple and easy and came out perfect. I substituted splendra for the sugar in the recipe but not for the sugar you roll them it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 259) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States