Cracker Jack Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by quiet_place
Reviewed: May 24, 2006
Great cookie! Chewy with a bit of crunch from the peanuts. Mine turned out a little thin, but I didn't have real butter. A friend suggested using a little less butter when a cookie recipe turns out flat. I'll try that next time. I did try the first batch without coconut (half the family doesn't like it). I added it in before I baked the next batch and was convinced the coconut is vital. It holds together better and gives it great texture. Everyone loved the taste. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by quiet_place

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bristol, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
Well when I first tried these I thought they were pretty good but then I found myself going back for more and more. Positively addictive! I had to bring them to work to get the away from me. A great salty/sweet, chewy yet crunchy combo. Made just as directed. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Niles, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2006
Yum! These are soo good! I did have to adjust the baking time and oven temp though. The first batch set off the smoke alarms! I think I finally got it right by the 3rd batch. 325 degrees for 9 minutes was about perfect. Oh, and these spread (a lot!) while baking, so make sure to space them plenty far apart! I added a bag of butterscotch chips instead of the nuts and mmmmmmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Holland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2007
These cookies were quite tasty! I made them without the peanuts because I didn't have any at the time. My husband took half of them to work and everyone at his work wanted the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2004
Try this cookie with macadamia nuts! Make sure you cook the cookies for the 12 min. until they are dark golden brown (if you want crispiness) - which to me tastes better than chewy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAKANANI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kailua, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2002
these cookies didn't yet get the recognition they deserve. my husbands comment: "perfect!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2008
Very good cookies, all I did diffrent was to add pecans. Husband said he could eat them all with a big glass of milk. They are chewy but crunchy, GREAT!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pleasant Hope, Missouri, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2002
Cookies are very good, although the added coconut only added fat and not too much flavor. I also left out the nuts, and they turned out just fine, nice and chewy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2001
really good. Shared some with the neighbor and had to give her the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
The Best! I grew up on cracker jack cookies baked on a saturday morning for the coming week~ having lost my mum's recipe, I found this one. By making just a few changes I have the memories of my childhood in a cookie tin! :) I used corn flakes instead of the crisp rice cereal and raisins instead of the peanuts. Bake up a batch and bake. I put them in the freezer and then take out just how many the kids and I need to go with our tea for the day! Thanks for helping me share my childhood with my kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Fitch

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Clone of a Cracker Jack®

See how to make your own delicious peanutty, caramel-covered popcorn.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States