Cracker Candy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
I made these today and used 1/4 cup castor sugar, 1/2 cup brown sugar, graham crackers and a cup of ground walnuts. I sprayed a half sheet pan and used a silpat. I spread the choc chips but next time I wll melt them. Scored them while they were hot. One word - YUMMY!!! another two words MOLTEN LAVA!!! so be careful when you are working with this. I much prefer the brown sugar and graham cracker recipe to the saltines. Another hint - melt the sugar and butter together on the lowest heat. When they are melted turn the heat to medium and watch the pot so you don't boil over. I cooked the sugar and butter for 4 minutes when it started to boil and for the last two minutes I lowered the heat to med low. Don't take your eyes off of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Secret Agent

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
This recipe was quick and easy to make. Tastes like a more complicated recipe. I didn't get the sugar mixture to the corners of the crackers, so some didn't turn out well. Next time I'll make more of the syrup concoction.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
These were very quick and easy. They taste good (I wouldn't say great....just okay). I don't know how people can say they don't know they are eating saltines, though. It was VERY apparent to me that I was eating a saltine cracker with toffe/chocolate/nuts on it. Not that that is a terrible thing....but trust me, it won't be a secret!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2007
Good, but I'm not impressed. To me, it tasted just like a crispy brownie with nuts. Nothing at all like I expected it to be. The saltine cracker base is visible (not what I expected either); I was hoping I could fool my co-workers into thinking I had made the entire thing from scratch. Oh well; I probably won't try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2007
I made this for my kids and grandkids and they ate it all. Very easy and tastes like english toffee
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Honey Grove, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
This is my weakness. I actually only make 1/4 of the recipe at a time because I cannot stop myself from eating it until it's gone! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2006
I tried this last night because it sounded easy to make and I had all ingredients that I needed in my pantry and fridge. My husband and I thought these were good, but my kids thought they were wonderful. Because my kids loved them, and because they were very simple to make I'm giving this 5 stars. If it was at all difficult I would've given only 4. It is super easy, though, and has an interesting taste, kind of sweet/salty/buttery. (I did make a few changes. I added a bit of vanilla to the sugar, omitted the nuts because some of my kids don't care for nuts, and I used margarine instead of butter because my husband has allergies to milk.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HEATHERHIPPO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kellogg, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2006
wonderful reminds me of a Skor or heath bar in flavor. And extremely easy and quick to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2006
This was a hit! I had a dessert dish to pass at a recent birthday party and everyone loved this! Everyone I gave the recipe to was shocked to hear saltine crackers were the base for this. Easy and quick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Whitmore Lake, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2006
This is really good and pretty easy. I made it for Christmas and it was very popular. I did substitute brown sugar for white, and left out the nuts, but it was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Hard Candy

Master the technique of making colorful hard candy in 99 seconds.

Peach Gelee Candy

See how to make jellied candy with fresh peaches.

Clone of a Cracker Jack®

See how to make your own delicious peanutty, caramel-covered popcorn.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States