Cracker Candy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
I wish I had greasedd the pan. Otherwise it is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Braddyville, Iowa, USA
Living In: Princeton, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
My chocolate chips wouldn't melt. I did everything the recipe said but ended up burning the toffee trying to melt the chips. No idea what I did wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
Made this for our pastor's birthday because he loves saltine crackers. It was a hit and everyone wanted the recipe. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MayberryGal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queen Creek, Arizona, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Patches
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
After checking the reviews, I substituted brown sugar for the white and toasted coconut for the nuts (allergy). I also prefer to melt the chocolate chips in the microwave. Using parchment paper to line the cookie sheet works perfectly ... catches the "drips" and the cracker candy easily peels off. Nice, nice, nice. This time, I had no saltines so used honey graham crackers. Didn't have enough of any one kind of chocolate chip so used up all the leftovers ... some milk chocolate, some white chocolate, and some chocolate mint. Turned out delicious!!! Thanks, Debbie, for sharing such a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patches

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
This was a pretty nice recipe. I've made a couple of similar recipes in the past, but I can't remember how this compares. I made it exactly as written, and took the results to a picnic, where most of it disappeared, and I received praise from several people that tried it. The little bit that was left, I had myself, and thought it was pretty good. Not awesome, but a quick and easy candy treat. Plus people are often surprised by the "secret ingredient" of saltines. Worth recommending.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
I have been making this candy for about 25 years. I use brown sugar, saltine crackers, and I use margarine.(not butter) and it turns out great. I line the cookie sheet with foil, and spray with cooking spray. It is a really fun to watch the crackers "bounce around" on the cookie sheet while they are baking. This is a great recipe, and with ingredients that people usually have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
My four stars is only related to my inability to read instructions. I was ambitious and used the whole box of crackers - i think reading the 16oz threw me off! Four cookie sheets later, i had a messy kitchen and a not so pretty end result. However, these little crackers were still quite tasty and spread much further thoughout my department at work because I used the whole box of crackers. Plus, from a health standpoint, 2 sticks of butter and the cup of brown sugar and the chocolate chips and butterscotch chips and smoked chopped almonds I used were calorically reduced drastically by spreading the measurements thinner. Overall, the taste was great! The appeal was awful. And, the cookie sheets were easy to clean up (thanks to the non-stick cooking spray). I will likely try this again but using the right proportions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRICKET754

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
My grandma used to make this. It's perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CourtneyRaedio

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
One of the best candies I have ever eaten and easy to make, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: St. George, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
I am constantly amazed at the reaction I get whenever I make this candy - EVERYONE loves it! It is so fun to see the reactions from people when they realize it is made from regular saltine crackers. It is quick, it is easy, and you will be a rock star. I make it exactly as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Macomb, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Clone of a Cracker Jack®

See how to make your own delicious peanutty, caramel-covered popcorn.

Delicious Matzo Candy

See how to make amazing candy from matzo!

How to Make Hard Candy

Master the technique of making colorful hard candy in 99 seconds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States