Cracked Wheat Sourdough Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Every bread recipe needs salt. I added my normal 3/4 tsp salt/loaf. Without salt the bread will rise way to fast and have a dead flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by fjkaram
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
The ingredients work great, although I took a different approach as a test and it worked. I used a favorite sourdough recipe from Sourdough.com which starts with 4 cups of unbleached flour, 2 cups water and one cup of starter letting it proof overnight. Then added in all the goodies and used whole wheat flour to get my dough to the consistency I wanted and let if proof two hours before baking. Also used barley malt instead of molasses. I made two batches, with this and left the other loaf using only unbleached flour, so the same overnight proofing on both and only the finishing was different. I like the nutty, seedy whole wheat kind and my wife likes the white. Works out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
This is a really great bread except that I also feel that it needs salt and yeast. I agree with the other reviewer who would add 1-1/2 teaspoons salt and I would also start out adding yeast as well. My dough had done nothing after 2 1/2 hours on a warm day, so I sprinkled 2 envelopes of yeast over the dough and worked it in. This is 1-1/2 tablespoons if you are using bulk yeast. Other than that, it was very tasty and I loved the hearty texture of it. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2013
This is one of our my favourite sourdough bread recipes. I do add 1 1/2 tsp salt. It turns out wonderful everytime. I do usually make sure my sourdough has been fed and is good and active but the loaves are light and rise beautifully with wonderful flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salisbury, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
I used this recipe as a jumping board because I didn't have all the ingredients. I am an experienced bread maker so wasn't afraid to change things a little, and it turned out excellent. I only had two cups of sourdough so I used 2 tsp of yeast, too. I didn't have cracked wheat handy, so I used the same amount of amaranth. Instead of whole wheat, I used spelt flour. I just prefer spelt. I didn't use the egg wash and my bread turned out with a wonderful crust. I didn't spray with water either. I didn't have sunflower seeds or flax seed so they were omitted, too. I cooked it till it was 180 degrees. This is a new favorite for our family. It made two, two pound loaves of bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BUBBLES89021

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yerington, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
Wow, it took me two days but well worth it! It's probably my own starter but I had to give it lots of time to rise, plus we live on the northcoast so I had to set it by the wood stove to get it to rise. I used toasted, salted pumpkin seeds instead of raw sunflower seeds and it added the missing salt. My family ate it all week and left the store bought bread alone. The next weeks batch, I experimented adding an extra tablespoon of honey, an extra 1/2 tablespoon of molasses, 1/2 cup of chopped walnuts, and a cup of chopped dried fruit; a mixture of raisins, dried cherries, cranberries and dates to total 2 cups of fruit and nuts. Rather then using loaf pans I put the dough in grapefruit sized balls for the final rise and ended up with 5 beautiful 'breakfast fruit and nut' round loaves that go into the toaster perfectly. Can't wait for the next combination to this great base recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
Great recipe. I did add a little salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Pen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
Great bread but I agree with some other reviewers that it needs some salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2010
I can't rate this recipe with a good conscience because I have to think it was my fault it was very dense and not at all fluffy as some said it was. The dough was so stiff after I added the first 2 c. flour that I couldn't add but one more cup instead of the 3 called for. Rising was very slow and never made it above the pan rim. I have left my email address if anyone has any help for me on what I might have done wrong or could have done. Please see my profile for the address. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Post Falls, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2010
5 stars, This was the first sourdough bread that turned out for me. I made it like the recipe says except added 4 t. salt and used all honey instead of the molasses and it turned out great. I have made it a second time now and I love it. The taste is wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States