Cracked Wheat Sourdough Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2005
I questioned the fact that there is no salt in this recipe and made it according to directions anyway. It is a terrific bread and the addition of salt would make it even better. I found an identical recipe that calls for 1 1/2 tsp salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2004
I changed this recipe slightly to work with what we had on hand. I used 1 cup freshly chopped flax seed. (The body just passes out whole flax seed and you lose the nurtitional value unless you chop or grind it) I will try it with the sunflower seeds added in the future, but was out of them at this time. I used butter rather than margarine and used all freshly ground Hard White Prarie Gold Wheat. I cracked the Prarie Gold for the cracked wheat. I was boiling potatoes to mash so I poured the water off of them for the hot water in the recipe. The bread turned out great. My entire family loved it. We even made sandwiches out of it. It was suprisingly light for a bread that had seeds in it. One daughter said it made great toast. My Husband is a very picky eater and requested I send some in his lunch today. This is a bread I will bake again and again. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2005
This is very good, hearty without being overly heavy. I agree with another reviewer that it could use a little salt, and it does make 2 HUGE loaves. My starter is a very sweet and liquidy one -- I find that it works best if I feed 2 cups of it with a cup of flour and let sit overnight, then proceed from there. I also found that it needs a much longer rise time. I don't know how you get sourdough bread without any additional yeast to rise this quickly. I give the first rise overnight, the second rise does not need quite as long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2002
Absolutely wonderful! I left our the sunflower seeds, didn't have any, and used butter instead of margarine, never use the stuff. Tastes wonderful, great texture. Rate this on 5 stars for sure!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
This made a great loaf of bread. I placed it on baking stones and made a freeform loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elaine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Park City, Utah, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2001
This is a wonderful, "meaty" bread! It was devoured immediately in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Living In: Olsburg, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2007
I am new to bread making, so maybe I am doing something wrong, but this bread just doesn't turn out right. I have made it twice, and I must have had to potent of a starter, because in the first rise, after the hour and a half it had tripled.... same for the second rise. Then when I put it in the pans, it hardly rose at all, and the bit that it did rise, it fell flat after putting th egg wash on and while baking. Today I made it again, this time with a more aged starter. It rose about right for the first two rises, and rose good for the pan rise, (although it took two hours instead of the one called for) but again fell after I put the egg wash on (I was very gentle) and baking. It didn't fall as much this time though. The bread tastes too "sour" and doesn't have good "bread" texture. (I am sure that is from falling.) I might try making this again, but with half the starter called for, and then just let it rise once before putting it in the pans. I am afraid to waste my time again though. *sigh* (BTW: Last week I made a basic sourdough bread recipe with the same sourdoug starter, and it worked out perfect, so I don't think it is my starter.) **The bread did rise (with no extra yeast) and so many other people like it, that I give it four stars. Maybe I am doing something wrong, and maybe other people like bread that "sour".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monticello, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2002
I thoroughly enjoyed this recipe and my kids, and Husband surprised me by wanting more and more of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2005
I cut this recipie in half and I still got 2 9x5 loaves. This was Delicious!!! Great Sandwhich bread and I'm sure as my starter matures, the bread will taste even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmingville, New York, USA
Living In: Geneseo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
I am relatively new to sourdough (3 months or so). I made this bread with my own "homegrown" sourdough made from white flour and pineapple juice. It worked! - it just took time and patience. I've been baking some sort of sourdough bread weekly since then. I love a heavy bread that is full of whole grains and this is one of those. At first I made the bread as written but have tried variations (added oatmeal, used only molasses vs. half honey etc.). My sourdough works best when well fed - I usually keep it in the refrigerator during the week and take it our Thursday night or Friday morning for Saturday baking. My base (the amount kept for later baking) is a small amount (1/4 cup or so) to allow for multiple feedings of flour and water just before baking spaced about 6 to 8 hours apart. Well fed starter makes the difference for me as to whether my bread will rise without using commercial yeast. Before putting back into the refrigerator I feed the small amount reserved from baking (1/4 cup) with an equal amount of flour and a very small amount of water to make a very thick batter - this helps the starter to keep in the cold until taken back out a day or so before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States