Cracked Wheat Sourdough Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2001
This is a wonderful, "meaty" bread! It was devoured immediately in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Living In: Olsburg, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2002
I thoroughly enjoyed this recipe and my kids, and Husband surprised me by wanting more and more of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2002
Absolutely wonderful! I left our the sunflower seeds, didn't have any, and used butter instead of margarine, never use the stuff. Tastes wonderful, great texture. Rate this on 5 stars for sure!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2004
I changed this recipe slightly to work with what we had on hand. I used 1 cup freshly chopped flax seed. (The body just passes out whole flax seed and you lose the nurtitional value unless you chop or grind it) I will try it with the sunflower seeds added in the future, but was out of them at this time. I used butter rather than margarine and used all freshly ground Hard White Prarie Gold Wheat. I cracked the Prarie Gold for the cracked wheat. I was boiling potatoes to mash so I poured the water off of them for the hot water in the recipe. The bread turned out great. My entire family loved it. We even made sandwiches out of it. It was suprisingly light for a bread that had seeds in it. One daughter said it made great toast. My Husband is a very picky eater and requested I send some in his lunch today. This is a bread I will bake again and again. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2004
This is a wonderful recipe. I half the recipe and put it in my breadmaker. Great texture and flavor! Will use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2005
I cut this recipie in half and I still got 2 9x5 loaves. This was Delicious!!! Great Sandwhich bread and I'm sure as my starter matures, the bread will taste even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmingville, New York, USA
Living In: Geneseo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2005
I questioned the fact that there is no salt in this recipe and made it according to directions anyway. It is a terrific bread and the addition of salt would make it even better. I found an identical recipe that calls for 1 1/2 tsp salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2005
This is very good, hearty without being overly heavy. I agree with another reviewer that it could use a little salt, and it does make 2 HUGE loaves. My starter is a very sweet and liquidy one -- I find that it works best if I feed 2 cups of it with a cup of flour and let sit overnight, then proceed from there. I also found that it needs a much longer rise time. I don't know how you get sourdough bread without any additional yeast to rise this quickly. I give the first rise overnight, the second rise does not need quite as long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
This made a great loaf of bread. I placed it on baking stones and made a freeform loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elaine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Park City, Utah, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
Excellent! It does need a touch of salt- I think I will take another reviewer's advice and make a biga of starter/some flour the day before making the final dough, then adding some salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States