Cracked Wheat Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2003
This is an incredibly light, tasteful bread. I let it rise for almost a full hour and a half the second time and the dough tripled... making it even more airy! Since my family has been on this health kick lately I added 1 cup more whole wheat flour instead of the white flour. Now they can eat it AND say it is healthy! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
With a soft texture and a firm yet giving crust, this Cracked Wheat bread recipe sure pleased our taste buds. This was the first recipe we used with cracked wheat and it was delicious. Because of past experiences with wheat flour we feared this bread would be dense but it was far from it with a hint of sweetness. Like another reviewer, we found the bread needed to rise longer than specified (ours took over an 1 hour on the first rise and an 1 1/2 hour on the second rise). But don't let this stop you from using this recipe, this will be our go-to wheat bread from now on. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jools

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2003
Great bread, Nancy. Wonderful dense texture but with a light and fluffy crumb. Nutty flavor, and best of all pretty healthy. I sub'd canola oil for margarine. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Love Lilacs
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
This bread was great! It has a wonderful aroma that lasts. The crust is perfectly crusty. You don't even need to put anything on it. Plain is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love Lilacs

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
Excellent recipe. I increased the amount of whole-wheat flour (reducing the white flour proportionately, but still retaining some). Great flavor, great "crumb." Makes wonderful toast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HSILCOX

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kennedyville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2003
very easy recipe. wonderful texture and flavor. also makes great dinner rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Carolyn Kemp-VanSwol
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
This is the best Cracked Wheat Bread Recipe I had ever used. I cut the All Purpose Flour down to a bit over 3 cups for that soft texture and great crumb... The 4 cups is good but a bit more dense. And too, I like to toss in a couple Tablespoons of Flax Seed to kick it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn Kemp-VanSwol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
Very nice. I think I overbaked it, but that's my fault--the crust was very hard, but the inside was still very soft and hearty. I used wheat bran since I don't have cracked wheat, and didn't boil it bc I didn't think it was necessary with the wheat bran. After everything, it turned out a very lovely bread. Hearty ww flavor yet soft enough for sandwich breads. I did add about a tablespoon or so of wheat gluten. thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Belinda M
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
This bread was very good!! I did change the serving size to "30" so it would make enough dough for 2- 9x5 inch loaves. The original recipe only made two small loaves for me and I like a little larger loaf. I used demerara sugar in place of the honey and molasses, used 1 tablespoon SAF instant yeast and added 2 tablespoons of vital wheat gluten. I cooked the wheat, let it cool; then added 1 tsp. demerara sugar, the wheat flour and yeast and let it sit for 10 minutes until bubbly. I then stired in all the other ingredients to the yeast-wheat mixture and put the dough into my bread machine for 15 to 20 minutes( just to stir and knead the dough) then I let it rise until it doubled in an oiled bowl. Shaped into 2 loaves and let it rise again in the bread pans. Baked at 350 degrees for 40 minutes... Awesome!!! My whole family loves this bread.. Note: If you use all-purpose flour add some vital wheat gluten or use Bread flour so your bread will rise better and have a better texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
Absolutely phenomenal. I recently started breadmaking when the in-laws gave us a Kitchenaid. This and Challah I (joan callaway) are my favorites so far. Of the wheat bread I've made this is, hands down, the best. I tossed in a little wheat germ and replaced the water with whey (including cooking the cracked wheat).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States