Cracked Wheat Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Carolyn Kemp-VanSwol
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
This is the best Cracked Wheat Bread Recipe I had ever used. I cut the All Purpose Flour down to a bit over 3 cups for that soft texture and great crumb... The 4 cups is good but a bit more dense. And too, I like to toss in a couple Tablespoons of Flax Seed to kick it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn Kemp-VanSwol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2003
This is an incredibly light, tasteful bread. I let it rise for almost a full hour and a half the second time and the dough tripled... making it even more airy! Since my family has been on this health kick lately I added 1 cup more whole wheat flour instead of the white flour. Now they can eat it AND say it is healthy! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
I have searched for a great wheat bread recipe for years- I've finally found it! Unbelievable texture and the flavor (with a little extra molasses on my part!) is heavnly. My family loves it and so do I. THanks for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
With a soft texture and a firm yet giving crust, this Cracked Wheat bread recipe sure pleased our taste buds. This was the first recipe we used with cracked wheat and it was delicious. Because of past experiences with wheat flour we feared this bread would be dense but it was far from it with a hint of sweetness. Like another reviewer, we found the bread needed to rise longer than specified (ours took over an 1 hour on the first rise and an 1 1/2 hour on the second rise). But don't let this stop you from using this recipe, this will be our go-to wheat bread from now on. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jools

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2004
I used all whole wheat flour. The loaves tasted just slightly sweet. Having to cook the cracked wheat won't slow you down too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MACKALLEN
Home Town: Superior, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2006
I have made several wheat breads in our bread machine -- most from "all recipes". This is by far the best. My husband rated it "outstanding!" Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2003
Great bread, Nancy. Wonderful dense texture but with a light and fluffy crumb. Nutty flavor, and best of all pretty healthy. I sub'd canola oil for margarine. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2003
very easy recipe. wonderful texture and flavor. also makes great dinner rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
Excellent recipe. I increased the amount of whole-wheat flour (reducing the white flour proportionately, but still retaining some). Great flavor, great "crumb." Makes wonderful toast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HSILCOX

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kennedyville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
I have replaced my other cracked wheat bread with this recipe. I have been making homemade bread for 50 years and this is the most wonderful bread I have ever tasted. Thank you for this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Cheney, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States