Cracked Wheat Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 22, 2001
Very tasty, wheaty bread. Full bodied. Toasts great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2003
Dense texture and nicely flavored. As always, I added 2T gluten to aid in the rising and structure of the texture. Good bread and lovely when toasted.Set bread machine for dough cycle, then shaped into loaf and baked in 9X5 pan at 375 degrees for 33 minutes. Thanks Sue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2004
I made this with 2 1/3 c. of whole wheat flour and it still rose very nicely. I made this into one 9x5 pan and one mini loaf. This recipe doesn't call for soaking the cracked wheat first because the recipe is for a bread machine. If you are not using a bread machine, you may want to let the cracked wheat soak in water or milk first; it keeps you from having tooth-chipping nuggets in your bread. I'd also add another 1/2 t. of salt to this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MACKALLEN
Home Town: Superior, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2006
I used honey instead of brown sugar. I used the dough setting on my bread machine and then took the dough out and put it in a 9x5 inch pan to rise for 30 minutes. Then I baked for 40 min at 350 degrees. It was very good except maybe a little dry. I might put a bit more water in next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2007
Cracked wheat gives a little crunch to this bread, great for sandwiches. Instead of 3 cups bread flour, I used 1 1/3 cup bread flour, 1/3 cup cornmeal and an additional 1 2/3 cup whole wheat flour (2 cups whole wheat flour total).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RueBarbe
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
I used olive oil instead of margarine, and added a bit of flax seed for the health benefits. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RueBarbe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
Even my husband likes this bread. I also added some flaxseed meal and it was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
Very good, my family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
Excellent bread! Texture was light, cracked wheat adds a little crunch. The only caveat was my crust was slightly crunchy (but that was because the dough was too large for my 1.5 lb Zojirushi) and I had to continue baking the bread in the oven at 375 for another 15 minutes after the baking cycle completed. Even after that little snafu, the bread still came out tasty with a light texture which will be great for sandwiches and toast! Will need to use the dough cycle next time and bake in a 9x5 loaf pan. Note: I subbed in 1-1/3 cup whole wheat flour (instead of using just 1/3 cup of whole wheat and reduced bread flour to 2 cups). Highly recommend! Thanks Sue!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
My family and I loved this recipe! It doesn't taste "yeasty" as a lot of the others have. I added some whole oats well after "the beep for adding more ingredients". Other than that I stuck to the recipe and it was awesome. I am making it again today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States