Cracked Sugar Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
It wasn't great. I followed the recipe, but the cookies came out tasting pretty strong of baking soda and flour. They weren't terribly sweet and had a greasy after taste. They were crispy on the bottom and soft on the inside, but weren't fluffy like I'd hoped. I'll keep looking I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RBRANDSIX
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
This is my go-to website for recipes, but I rarely write a review. I had to with these cookies. I loved them. Super easy, super good. Split the extract between vanilla/almond and embellished with sprinkles. I like a frosted sugar cookie as much as the next girl, but very much appreciate a recipe that doesn't need icing. Tis the season. Make them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
Ok, these cookies are great! I did not have cream of tartar on hand, so this is how you substitute it out of the recipe... Baking powder is merely 2/3 cream of tartar and 1/3 baking soda. SO, if you do not have cream of tartar on hand to make this recipe, use 3/4 tsp baking powder (which gives you 1/2 tsp cream of tartar and 1/4 tsp baking soda), and use 3/4 tsp baking soda (which, added with the 1/4 tsp derived from the baking powder above, gives you the entire 1 tsp of baking soda called for in the recipe). The substitution works great! These cookies are wonderful... buttery, crispy along the edges and chewy and moist in the middle. Delish! Thanks original poster!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laura_lee_76

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
Roll in sugar or cinnamon / sugar before baking for more flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
Awesome, great recipe and easy to follow. Cookies turned out perfect! I left one batch in a tad bit longer and got a nice crisp edge. I also added a half more teaspoon of vanilla, because I love vanilla! Highly recommended recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
Just a wonderful Sugar Cookie!!! Light crisp, chewyish inside. No need to modify.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
These are very good cookies. I agree with the reviews that say the dough balls need to be somewhat flattened. And the dough is very dry and difficult to stir. Sticking my hands in to mix in the flour worked well. Not the best sugar cookies ever. They need some icing or sugar sprinkles to make them sweet enough for my idea of a sugar cookie. I will make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
Excellent recipe! For variety, we added a teaspoon of almond extract, and pressed a whole almond on the top of some of the cookies. Tasted great like that too. Those who are Dutch might find adding almond flavoring makes this into a "boeterkoek" cookie. Similar taste and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wyoming, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
These are my new favorite cookies! I have made these several times now and they turn out great every time. The last time I made them I used margarine instead of butter and I used a heaping tsp of baking powder rather than the soda/cream of tartar combination and they were good as ever! The only thing is the recipe usually only yields about 3 dozen for me rather than 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 1,095) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Cracked Sugar Cookies I

These sugar cookies stay puffy and moist even when cool.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States