Crabmeat and Corn Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2003
I found this recipe less than one half hour ago and dinner is on the table. Added a splash of hot sauce and sherry. I cannot believe how quick and easy this was to prepare with canned crab meat and white corn. Everyone is very, very impressed. Make this and enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2003
A really tasty and simple chowder. Had some doubts about adding the soy sauce. Sampled it in a small bowl first. Oh my gosh! The soy sauce made all the difference in the great taste. Will make this for many years to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2007
I had some heavy cream, salt pork and cobbed corn to use up, and found this recipe. Even my picky 5 year old ate some. I also made some changes: I sauteed onions and garlic after cooking the salt pork. I also used 1 c heavy cream, 2 c 1% milk and 2 c seafood stock, and about 3 potatoes (what kept my 5 year old from having more). I used leftover corn from the cob, and canned crab meat. Finally, I didn't add the soy sause right away, but I agree with another poster: try it - it makes the dish! You bet I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
This soup is really good. I used leftover Dungeness crabmeat that we cracked yesterday. I had no whole milk or half-and-half, so I used one can of evaporated milk and used 1% milk for the rest. It was plenty thick- I think it would have been too thick and rich with the higer-fat ingredients. I only had 1/2 cup green onions, so I used a sprinkle of garlic powder. I also added a heaping 1/2 tsp. of Old Bay. I only used a few drops of soy sauce because I thought that was kind of wierd. The soup was good and a little bit spicy- I loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
At the risk of sounding like everyone else....This was AMAZING! I followed your recipe exactly as was also leary about adding the soy sauce, but that was a perfect ingredient, it really made the crab meat more pronounced somehow. I added some tiny diced boiled potatoes to the soup for a little more hardiness and used fresh crab meat. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe, I will definitely be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minacraft

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
I made this recipe almost exactly as written, using fresh Chesapeake crabs that we had left over from last night. I did substituted the half and half for heavy whipping cream and we used Old Bay to season. All I can say is OMG. I've never tried any recipes using crab meat other than just boiling crabs, but this will become a regular on our menu while the fresh crabs are available. Even my 8 year old loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LuvKookin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntsville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2005
This was an excellent recipe. I used 4 cobs of fresh corn instead of canned, but used canned creab instead of fresh. Delicious, but I thought a bit sweet. I added creole seasoning (1/2 tsp) and a dash of hot pepper sauce, next time I think I will add some cubed potatoes to cut the sweetness a bit and make it a little hardier/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
This was delicious! I used left over king crab and lobster with fresh corn and 1.5 potatoes. I sautéed the onion with garlic and butter before adding and cooked the potatoes beforehand as well. I also added some hot sauce. It is so thick and creamy and the soy sauce Rocks this dish! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lissa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
Was very good added bacon and potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
While I stayed with the basic ingredients, after reading some of the reviews, I did make the following changes: 1 1/2 cups fat free milk 2.5 cups fat free Land O Lakes Half n Half (just trust me - go with the Land O Lakes brand on this.) 12 oz. Frozen Sweet Whole Kernel Corn 2 - 11 oz cans of Crab Meat that equal 8 oz. each when drained 3/4 teaspoon ground white pepper 1 teaspoon Old Bay Seasoning in lieu of Seasoning Salt Everything else was prepared as stated except for the parsley. I didn't use the garnish since it was just a middle of the week quick meal for us at home - but I did drop a hand full of Oyster Crackers right in the middle of each bowl. This was an AMAZING meal. the extra corn helped to add a more hearty texture, the little extra half n half helped to thicken the base that the fat free milk would normally be lacking and the Old Bay Seasoning ... it just helps to bring out the crab in this ultra smooth, creamy base. Give it a try - we will certainly be having this again. Oh - someone had mentioned maybe putting potatoes in the base to make it more hearty. Has anyone experimented with that? The only reason I didn't was that potatoes tend to absorb salt and I didn't want them to pull the salt from the rest of the dish. Just my opinion, but I am interested in knowing what others have tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States