Crabmeat and Corn Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2003
I found this recipe less than one half hour ago and dinner is on the table. Added a splash of hot sauce and sherry. I cannot believe how quick and easy this was to prepare with canned crab meat and white corn. Everyone is very, very impressed. Make this and enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2003
A really tasty and simple chowder. Had some doubts about adding the soy sauce. Sampled it in a small bowl first. Oh my gosh! The soy sauce made all the difference in the great taste. Will make this for many years to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2007
I had some heavy cream, salt pork and cobbed corn to use up, and found this recipe. Even my picky 5 year old ate some. I also made some changes: I sauteed onions and garlic after cooking the salt pork. I also used 1 c heavy cream, 2 c 1% milk and 2 c seafood stock, and about 3 potatoes (what kept my 5 year old from having more). I used leftover corn from the cob, and canned crab meat. Finally, I didn't add the soy sause right away, but I agree with another poster: try it - it makes the dish! You bet I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
This soup is really good. I used leftover Dungeness crabmeat that we cracked yesterday. I had no whole milk or half-and-half, so I used one can of evaporated milk and used 1% milk for the rest. It was plenty thick- I think it would have been too thick and rich with the higer-fat ingredients. I only had 1/2 cup green onions, so I used a sprinkle of garlic powder. I also added a heaping 1/2 tsp. of Old Bay. I only used a few drops of soy sauce because I thought that was kind of wierd. The soup was good and a little bit spicy- I loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2005
This was an excellent recipe. I used 4 cobs of fresh corn instead of canned, but used canned creab instead of fresh. Delicious, but I thought a bit sweet. I added creole seasoning (1/2 tsp) and a dash of hot pepper sauce, next time I think I will add some cubed potatoes to cut the sweetness a bit and make it a little hardier/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
At the risk of sounding like everyone else....This was AMAZING! I followed your recipe exactly as was also leary about adding the soy sauce, but that was a perfect ingredient, it really made the crab meat more pronounced somehow. I added some tiny diced boiled potatoes to the soup for a little more hardiness and used fresh crab meat. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe, I will definitely be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Naomi Craft

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
I made this recipe almost exactly as written, using fresh Chesapeake crabs that we had left over from last night. I did substituted the half and half for heavy whipping cream and we used Old Bay to season. All I can say is OMG. I've never tried any recipes using crab meat other than just boiling crabs, but this will become a regular on our menu while the fresh crabs are available. Even my 8 year old loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LuvKookin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntsville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
This was delicious! I used left over king crab and lobster with fresh corn and 1.5 potatoes. I sautéed the onion with garlic and butter before adding and cooked the potatoes beforehand as well. I also added some hot sauce. It is so thick and creamy and the soy sauce Rocks this dish! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lissa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
Was very good added bacon and potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
Wow! This was delicious! I used one can of evaporated milk and the rest non fat milk and it was plenty thick. Also I used 2 cans of corn. Very yummy for the whole family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States