Crabmeat and Corn Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
A real hit! Quick and easy and tastes great. Only change: my husband is a Maryland guy and loves crabs with Old Bay seasoning. I added Old Bay to this recipe and it was the perfect flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
While I stayed with the basic ingredients, after reading some of the reviews, I did make the following changes: 1 1/2 cups fat free milk 2.5 cups fat free Land O Lakes Half n Half (just trust me - go with the Land O Lakes brand on this.) 12 oz. Frozen Sweet Whole Kernel Corn 2 - 11 oz cans of Crab Meat that equal 8 oz. each when drained 3/4 teaspoon ground white pepper 1 teaspoon Old Bay Seasoning in lieu of Seasoning Salt Everything else was prepared as stated except for the parsley. I didn't use the garnish since it was just a middle of the week quick meal for us at home - but I did drop a hand full of Oyster Crackers right in the middle of each bowl. This was an AMAZING meal. the extra corn helped to add a more hearty texture, the little extra half n half helped to thicken the base that the fat free milk would normally be lacking and the Old Bay Seasoning ... it just helps to bring out the crab in this ultra smooth, creamy base. Give it a try - we will certainly be having this again. Oh - someone had mentioned maybe putting potatoes in the base to make it more hearty. Has anyone experimented with that? The only reason I didn't was that potatoes tend to absorb salt and I didn't want them to pull the salt from the rest of the dish. Just my opinion, but I am interested in knowing what others have tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
We loved this!! I left out the soy sauce, but followed everything else. Very yummy! Thank you for such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hammond, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Plaquemine, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
great stick to your ribs meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
This soup was devoured by my men!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
I gave this four stars because it was a bit bland when I tried to follow the recipe exactly. Also, the corn and green onions were really slow to cook when I tried to cook them in the milk/half&half mixture. If I cook this again, I will cook the corn & onions for a few minutes in the butter/flour mix then add the milk and half&half to bring out their flavor and soften them up. I added a celery stick (chopped) and some garlic powder, as well as a LOT more salt & pepper than called for to spice it up a little. Like I said, it was bland. That said, once I did all of that it turned out pretty delicious. I made this for my parents and my step-dad raved about it. I also kept big chunks of fresh crab in there, which was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dulce

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
This is so easy and delicious. I made it as a course for a friend's birthday and everyone loved it. The slight crispness and sweetness of the corn is a great addition to the crab and cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
I made this recipe almost exactly as written, using fresh Chesapeake crabs that we had left over from last night. I did substituted the half and half for heavy whipping cream and we used Old Bay to season. All I can say is OMG. I've never tried any recipes using crab meat other than just boiling crabs, but this will become a regular on our menu while the fresh crabs are available. Even my 8 year old loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LuvKookin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntsville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
This was delicious! I used left over king crab and lobster with fresh corn and 1.5 potatoes. I sautéed the onion with garlic and butter before adding and cooked the potatoes beforehand as well. I also added some hot sauce. It is so thick and creamy and the soy sauce Rocks this dish! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lissa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
Used 3 small cans crabmeat and added a chopped garlic glove. Outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States