Crabmeat and Corn Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
Wow! This was delicious! I used one can of evaporated milk and the rest non fat milk and it was plenty thick. Also I used 2 cans of corn. Very yummy for the whole family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
I've made this more than a few times. It's quick and painless and the result is very good... I've made changes each time I've made it, once with shrimp which was very good, once with imitation crab, once with canned. I do always add a can of diced new potatoes, a few dashes of Tobasco, and sub the seasoning salt for a doubled amount of Old Bay. When it is almost ready to serve, I add about 1/4 cup of sherry and a couple of pats of butter for a little extra richness... Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
Wonderful! A local deli makes a spicy crab and corn chowder that is just devine, but it has 31 grams of fat. I've been looking for a recipe to satisfy my love of that chowder that's easier on the waistline and this is it! Changes I made: 2Tbs butter + 2 Tbs margarine (ran out of butter) Skim milk instead of whole Fat free half-and-half 1/2 cup chopped green onions (got tired of chopping) 1 cup Mexicorn + 1 cup frozen corn (wanted a touch of red & green peppers) Added 1/8 tsp cayenne pepper (for a little kick) Added 1/2 tsp parsley flakes I sauteed my corn and green onions before starting anything else and set aside to add later. I used a 16oz. tub of claw crab meat. This was sooooo good! Even my 10 year old who is certain she does NOT like crab not only ate it quickly, but used her bread to scoop up the last little bit in the bowl. I didn't tell her it was crab meat and she thought it was excellent. I think the next time, I will add 1/2 to 1tsp Old Bay. I was out and didn't realize it. Great recipe! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
Great recipe! I'm lactose intolerant so instead of using cream and milk, I subbed in chicken broth and a large potato to get that "creamy" sort of texture. The soup was delicious and rich even without real cream, so its a winner for me. I can only imagine what it would taste like with real cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
This recipe was awesome. The only thing I would say is that I used old bay seasoning instead of season salt and I used alot of it. I didn't measure it but I think I probably ended up using 3-4 teaspoons. Otherwise the soup would of been pretty tasteless. The old bay gave it some needed seasoning. I also increased the soy cause by a couple tablespoons. All in all though it was a great soup that we really enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
This was amazing! Everyone liked it at my house. I did not have half-and-half so I used some evaporated milk and the rest was whole milk. I also added an additional 1/4 tsp of both salt and pepper and about 2 oz of sharp cheddar. I had a very hard time getting away from the table and found myself very disappointed that we did not have more leftovers. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
I scraped the kernels from fresh white corn and sauteed them with olive oil cooking spray and Old Bay seasoning and set them aside. After I made the roux according to the recipe, I added a teaspoon of crushed dried basil and then a can of very good crabmeat and heated it through. I sliced some bakery sourdough and drizzled olive oil and coarse salt over the slices, baking them at 500 just till they were crispy around the edges. I served them with the soup and the dinner was fabulous. Thank you for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATSINTHEKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trinidad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
Easy and excellent! Used 2% milk and 16oz of crab claw meat. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
Yum! Easy and tasty. I used milk only, and found the soup to be very rich. I left out the green onions, but added some carrot, celery, and onion instead. The soy sauce adds some nice color to the soup. Double the seasoning salt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
YUM! I can't wait to make more of this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States