Crabmeat and Corn Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
This was good. The green onions made it very spicy, so next time I will saute them first because we aren't into spicy foods. I used 3 cans of crab meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
I made this recipe tonight for dinner, and it is a keeper! I followed the directions as stated, however I added a few dashes of hot sauce and a tablespoon or so of Old Bay instead of the seasoning salt. Such a good "stick to your ribs" soup on a cold winter evening!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
wow this soup is DELISH! and so quick and easy to make, I was really surprised. I used to cans of canned crabmeat, and added some hot sauce. It was perfect :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by allybaby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
Very, very tasty soup. Used immitation crab meat and it worked fine. Only thing I noted was that there wasn't enough liquid - therefore I doubled the amount of whole milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint-Lazare, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
This is super easy and delicious. I used 1% milk and it was perfect. I didnt taste the soy sauce, not sure what its supposed to do. I added some cayanne pepper for a little kick. Great soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BROOKE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
This was really very good and yielded comments alluding to it being a restaurant quality soup. I followed the recipe with the exception of using 1% milk and 2% evaporated milk for the milk and cream. It no doubt would have been even richer with full fat milk and cream, but was still plenty rich as it was. I also took the submitters suggestion and used canned crabmeat as fresh was not available for me this time around. Will be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
At the risk of sounding like everyone else....This was AMAZING! I followed your recipe exactly as was also leary about adding the soy sauce, but that was a perfect ingredient, it really made the crab meat more pronounced somehow. I added some tiny diced boiled potatoes to the soup for a little more hardiness and used fresh crab meat. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe, I will definitely be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minacraft

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
Wow! This was delicious! I used one can of evaporated milk and the rest non fat milk and it was plenty thick. Also I used 2 cans of corn. Very yummy for the whole family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
I've made this more than a few times. It's quick and painless and the result is very good... I've made changes each time I've made it, once with shrimp which was very good, once with imitation crab, once with canned. I do always add a can of diced new potatoes, a few dashes of Tobasco, and sub the seasoning salt for a doubled amount of Old Bay. When it is almost ready to serve, I add about 1/4 cup of sherry and a couple of pats of butter for a little extra richness... Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
Wonderful! A local deli makes a spicy crab and corn chowder that is just devine, but it has 31 grams of fat. I've been looking for a recipe to satisfy my love of that chowder that's easier on the waistline and this is it! Changes I made: 2Tbs butter + 2 Tbs margarine (ran out of butter) Skim milk instead of whole Fat free half-and-half 1/2 cup chopped green onions (got tired of chopping) 1 cup Mexicorn + 1 cup frozen corn (wanted a touch of red & green peppers) Added 1/8 tsp cayenne pepper (for a little kick) Added 1/2 tsp parsley flakes I sauteed my corn and green onions before starting anything else and set aside to add later. I used a 16oz. tub of claw crab meat. This was sooooo good! Even my 10 year old who is certain she does NOT like crab not only ate it quickly, but used her bread to scoop up the last little bit in the bowl. I didn't tell her it was crab meat and she thought it was excellent. I think the next time, I will add 1/2 to 1tsp Old Bay. I was out and didn't realize it. Great recipe! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 21-30 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States