Crabby Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2001
The potatoes turned out really soupy! Way too much butter, and I love butter. Definetly will try again and use 3/4 cup butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2001
This is a dish to experiment with. I've made this for years, and I've made some important changes to it that I find make the recipe better. First, cream of celery soup compliments the crab better than cream of chicken. I've tried cream of mushroom, chicken, etc, and nothing is as tasty in this as the cream of celery. Second, don't buy expensive finely cut hashbrowns. Buy less expensive shoestring potatoes or the cubed hash browns. They hold their texture better and absorb the butter and mixture and make a better casserole consistency, otherwise it ends up soupy, almost like mashed potatoes. When made right, this is a GREAT side dish, but you should experiment to see which way works best for you...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2003
Hubby loved this recipe! I did too. But like the previous poster wrote, it's too soupy. Next time I will only add 1/2 cup butter. Thanks for this recipe, it will become a favorite around my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2003
Unusual combination and delicious, easy to make, great for family get togethers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tipton, Michigan, USA
Living In: North Port, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2003
Didn't like too much. Not very good with imitation crab meat. Very messy dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2004
This recipe has the potential to be really good. I do wish I had read the reviews BEFORE making it. I agree that it calls for WAY TOO MUCH BUTTER! The dish had butter oozing from it everywhere! Also, I cut back on the cheese to 2-3 cups (8-12 oz). I'm glad I did because the 4 cups would have been too much...and I'm a cheese lover. Will definitely make this again with a butter adjustment. I'll also try the cream of celery soup as suggested by another reviewer. Might even add a little onion for added flavor and a light sprinkle of bread crumbs to top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2004
This recipe has potential, but it's a little different for my taste. I used 1/2 c butter and it was way too buttery. Butter oozing from everywhere, Yuck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2005
Very filling and my youngest son could not get enough. Per the suggestion of other reviewers, I used a little less than half a cup of butter,tried cream of celery soup, and used about a cup to cup in a half of cheese. That seemed to work and I did not have the buttery mess that some reviewers spoke about and the cheese was not overwhelming. I was glad I read reviews before I made this one but will definetly make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2005
I used twice the amount of potatoes, and half the butter. Came out GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2006
I wish I too had read the reviews first...way too much butter...heart attack waiting to happen. I will try it again with some of the other viewers' ideas. It has a lot of yummy potential.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Marys, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Mascarpone Mashed Potatoes

See how to make amazing make-ahead mashers with mascarpone cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States