Crabby Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 19, 2014
Made it with real (deep fried) potatoes, a quarter cup of butter, cream of mushroom, and about two tablespoons of Old Bay. Almost restaurant quality -- the only downer was the difficulty of properly frying potatoes at home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by c. sutt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2006
This is one of my all time favorites now. Definitely reduce the butter (I only did a half cup in the bottom of pan) and the cheese (I just used one 8 ounce package). I love seafood so this one was a hit. I even made it with smoked sausage kind of as a breakfast casserole. I like this one because I can prepare it the night before and leave it in the fridge and just put it in the oven when I get home from work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Anderson, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
This is a great recipe, but I made a few changes to it. I used real potatoes instead of frozen hash potatoes. I peeled, cut, and boiled them along with cut up califlour. When they were done boiling I mixed in 1 cup water with 1 can of cream of chicken soup, I also threw in the crabmeat. When I was done with that, I transferred it into a baking dish and topped it with cheddar cheese to make a lovely casserole. It tasted SOOOOOOO good. Hubby gobbled it up and then asked me to make it the next day. I ommited the sour cream & butter but next time I will definately add it. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hartford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2006
I wish I too had read the reviews first...way too much butter...heart attack waiting to happen. I will try it again with some of the other viewers' ideas. It has a lot of yummy potential.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Marys, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2005
I used twice the amount of potatoes, and half the butter. Came out GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2005
Very filling and my youngest son could not get enough. Per the suggestion of other reviewers, I used a little less than half a cup of butter,tried cream of celery soup, and used about a cup to cup in a half of cheese. That seemed to work and I did not have the buttery mess that some reviewers spoke about and the cheese was not overwhelming. I was glad I read reviews before I made this one but will definetly make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2004
This recipe has potential, but it's a little different for my taste. I used 1/2 c butter and it was way too buttery. Butter oozing from everywhere, Yuck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2004
This recipe has the potential to be really good. I do wish I had read the reviews BEFORE making it. I agree that it calls for WAY TOO MUCH BUTTER! The dish had butter oozing from it everywhere! Also, I cut back on the cheese to 2-3 cups (8-12 oz). I'm glad I did because the 4 cups would have been too much...and I'm a cheese lover. Will definitely make this again with a butter adjustment. I'll also try the cream of celery soup as suggested by another reviewer. Might even add a little onion for added flavor and a light sprinkle of bread crumbs to top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2003
Didn't like too much. Not very good with imitation crab meat. Very messy dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2003
Unusual combination and delicious, easy to make, great for family get togethers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tipton, Michigan, USA
Living In: North Port, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Mascarpone Mashed Potatoes

See how to make amazing make-ahead mashers with mascarpone cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States