Crabby Cream Cheese Wontons Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
Yum! Didn't have crab meat but I'm sure it would be great with it! Skipped the worchestershire like other reviewers, also added about 1.5 t fresh minced ginger. Served w/sweet & sour sauce - was terrific! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Rockford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2007
We didn't care for these much, think it was the Worcestershire, might try again without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
These were very tasty, but some of them burst when I fried them. I had some leftover filling which made a very good dip on crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brian J.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
I make my own crab rangoons all the time...we like a litle more stuffing in ours than the restaurants around here add. I read the reviews and decided to change up the recipe just a little. I omitted the w. sauce and reduced the sesame oil just a little. We really liked the results. Thanks for something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
My husband and I thought that there was too much soy, sesame, onion, and worcestershire sauce. It was a little over-powering for us. We ended up adding 4 blocks of cream cheese to try and dilute the mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
I made these as one of the appetizers for a dinner for my parents 25th anniversary. I followed the recipe as it is other than using real crabmeat. I didn't have any problem with the filling leaking as some other reviewers had mentioned, but I was careful to leave a thick sealed edge outside the filled area. I served these with a sweet and sour dipping sauce and they were a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
I was so excited to try this recipe but was disappointed. It was probably due to my error though. Kept losing the inside of the wontons while cooking, I think due to my oil being to hot. But with an old electric stove the temp was hard to control. The taste was okay. I think I was expecting something a little sweeter? Anyway, despite my disappointment, the hubby and kids (5 and under) absolutely INHALED them! Hence the four stars. Served with the Oriental Dipping Sauce from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2006
We used the little salad shrimp instead of crab and minced it in the processor before blending all the ingredients together. They turned out great!! Next time we make them (oh yes, there will be many more next times for this recipe!) we are going to scale back the recipe first of all, because I ran out of wrappers with half the filling left, and use less sesame oil and worchestire sauce and add pepper and see how they turn out. I also wonder how these would taste with a little wasabi worked in.... mmm lots of possibilities with this gem of a recipe! I agree with the other reviewers in that you can't put too much filling or they will leak, but I found that when they start to leak they are ready to come out of the oil anyway. Thanks so much! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2006
I've made these before and they are good. Try buying baby shrimp in a can and mince instead of crab. Tastes good too and not as expensive if you buy real lumb crab meat. Great with warm sweet and sour sauce to dip in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShawnaRae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mission Valley, Texas, USA
Living In: Goliad, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 22, 2006
Very tasty. Real simple to make yet taste like it was a lot of work
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: San Joaquin, California, USA
Living In: Blue Springs, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Arepas

See how to make beautiful cream cheese breakfast arepas.

Salami, Cream Cheese, and Pepperoncini Roll-Ups

See how to make a super-easy, meat-and-cheesy party appetizer.

Cream Cheese Penguins

These adorable cream cheese penguins go beyond cute.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States