Crabbies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2002
WONDERFUL! I make these ahead of time, cut them into quarters, and keep them in a Ziploc bag in the freezer for quick appetizers anytime. Just pop from the freezer to under the broiler - - Viola! 3 minutes later, delicious crab munchies. I use two cans of crabmeat, and only one Tbs. mayo. People will gobble these up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOALAGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2004
Old English cheese spread (that little glass jar from Kraft) is the way to go with this recipe (and all it's other variations). I always use canned crabmeat, squeezing out the liquid. To freeze: prepare through step 2, lay on cookie sheet in freezer to set, then pop individual pieces in a bag or container for later use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2000
Very good and also easy. I made them ahead, spread on muffins and froze. Just had to defrost, bake and cut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
My mom made this for parties and now I do. It has always received rave reviews. When cut into triangles, no one has any idea it is an english muffin. It looks elegant. I use half the mayo and the parsley is optional. I never like to show up empty handed when invited to a friend's house but am usually short on time when going out, so this is what I do. I tripple (or quadruple) the recipe and freeze the rest for a great appetizer in a pinch. I put them in the freezer on metal baking sheet for about 15 mins or until frozen then pop them into a bag. This way they don't stick together. Then just heat as usual. When going somewhere arrange them on a heatproof plate then pop them under the broiler for a few mins at your friends house. Easy. And when you take them out of the oven you will have everyone's attention, they look and smell great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROMLOR
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2003
I did not follow the recipe...my mom gave me an alternate recipe using 1 can crab meat, 1 stick butter, 1 T. mayo, 1 jar of the cheese spread, 1/2 t. seasoned salt, & 12 english muffins--but prepared the same way. They are wonderful served as an appetizer. They are excellent stored in the freezer until ready for use...very convenient!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2006
This recipe is always a big hit with young and old alike. I have to tell my kids not to fill up their plate and save some for the grown ups. As to the recipe itself, not that this is healthy, but I don't use margarine becuase of trans fat, butter has much better flavor, mouthfeel and browns up nicer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LARDGAL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2001
Awesome! I had leftover snow crab meat and thought I'd try this. It's very easy to prepare and freezeable. Freeze in separate container..some for you on Friday nights and some to keep on hand for unexpected company. I am a very picky person when it comes to food and this recipe is a GREAT appetizer or snack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2001
These are so incredibly good. They are so easy, better to cut, freeze and bake. No waiting for defrost.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Super easy guests thought they were yummy. They asked "where" I bought them! I did add a dash of hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Staci

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brandon, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2000
Very easy and good!! It would be good on cocktail bread also. A must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mankato, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Crab Cakes

See how to make a cakes recipe that really shows off quality crabmeat.

Chef John's Crab Stuffed Sole

See how to prepare the easiest “fancy” fish recipe of all time.

Easiest Corn on the Cob

Discover the easiest, fastest way to make perfect corn on the cob.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States