Crabbies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2006
My mom used to make these when I was a kid, but she stopped because of accidentally feeding it to someone who was allergic to shellfish. I was so happy when I came across the recipe. They're just as I remembered them. I think it would have been better with a better cheese spread. I remember them being tangy-er. But they froze and reheated well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2006
This recipe is always a big hit with young and old alike. I have to tell my kids not to fill up their plate and save some for the grown ups. As to the recipe itself, not that this is healthy, but I don't use margarine becuase of trans fat, butter has much better flavor, mouthfeel and browns up nicer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LARDGAL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2005
I have a very picky 5 year old and she suprised me last week when she asked for the "round crab things". So I will definatly make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2004
Old English cheese spread (that little glass jar from Kraft) is the way to go with this recipe (and all it's other variations). I always use canned crabmeat, squeezing out the liquid. To freeze: prepare through step 2, lay on cookie sheet in freezer to set, then pop individual pieces in a bag or container for later use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2004
The first time I made this recipe, I used the most expensive crabmeat available at the grocery store. (Phillips) It was so disgusting and fishy-tasting and tasted like sewer water. However, I gave this recipe another try because my friend makes this wonderfully. This time I used imitation crab meat, Wizspread, and cut the English muffins into 4 and froze. My husband loved it and devoured them all in a few days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2004
My aunt gave me this recipe years ago and I make them often. They are wonderful and easy to throw together. I always splurge and use real crabmeat and Old English cheese spread. Yummers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2004
This was the worst thing I have ever tasted...Not sure if I did something wrong but I followed the recipe to the letter..Will never make again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andy Dillon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenfield, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2003
Wonderful!!! Cut them bite size and they are fabulous appetizers!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2003
This recipe is almost exactly the same as what my family has been eating for years at our Christmas Eve gathering. Just coming across this brings back all the holiday memories. I can't wait to make it this year even though I can't get home for the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2003
This is a wonderful recipe. It works both with muffins, and with black bread or french bagette. I made it over and over again and its wonderful. When I used the black bread bagette, I dipped it into egg wash first then put crab mixture on top, then froze it. The thing is, if you do the egg wash as well you have to put them on non-stick baking paper afterwards when you want to put them in the oven. I fell so in love with the recipe, that I now always have a frozen batch in my freezer for unexpected guests, or for when I get a craving. And, trust me, this is so good I get those a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belgrade, Central Serbia, Serbia
Living In: Nicosia, Nicosia, Cyprus

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Crab Cakes

See how to make a cakes recipe that really shows off quality crabmeat.

Chef John's Crab Stuffed Sole

See how to prepare the easiest “fancy” fish recipe of all time.

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States