Crab Stuffed Mushrooms III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by ibbz
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
My review is for the filling only in this recipe. Spot on in flavor, texture. Family "stole" the filling and was putting it on snack crackers so I didn't have enough to fill mushrooms! I added a little Old Bay, as I like that flavor with any seafood. Solid A+.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ibbz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
Loved this recipe, definitely soak the mushrooms, just make sure you drain them well first, open side down on paper towel. I added a few drops of tabasco and halved the recipe. Used green onion instead and didn't use celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
Very good...I didnt soak the mushrooms. Rinse and pat dry then put just the caps (unstuffed) in the casserole dish with a few pats of margarine. Put the dish in the preheated oven just til the butter melts and then toss the caps in it. This keeps them moist and flavorful. I had no celery, so I used scallion and added some minced jarred roasted red pepper (pimiento). Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katiemae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harveys Lake, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
The recipe as written is pretty bland. Regarding the soaking - I tried it soaking the mushrooms and not soaking the mushrooms and both ways were watery but soaking them was more flavorful. These are the changes I made: increase bread crumbs to 4 Tbsp, increase salt to 3/8 tsp., increase crab meant to 8oz, add 1/4 tsp parsley, add 1/2 cup parmesan cheese. When soaking the mushrooms I drizzled LIME juice on them because that is all I had and only rinsed them off with hot water, didn't really soak them. The texture and taste was much better with the lime soak/rinse. The extra breadcrumbs really soaked up the water and the extra salt let all the flavors really come out. Also, be sure to blend the ingredients as the recipe states, don't just chop them up. I HATE celery but you can't even taste it since all the ingredients are blended together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
I tried this recipe for the 4th of July. The mushroom caps were gone as soon as the first few people arrived! They loved it! Its a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2006
I love stuffed mushrooms and thought this recipe was quite good, however, next time I won't soak the mushrooms first as it made them kind of soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah S

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coronach, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Ljugarn, Gotlands, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2006
never soak or wet mushrooms---they will get extremely tough and "rubbery" recipe was ok. i prefer more flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luckyjen7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2006
Cut the recipe. I used imitation crab and the flavor just wasn't there. Next time I'd use real crab..and up teh spice a bit more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2006
Delicious! One of the best I have tasted! My family loves this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2006
Ok I liked this recipe, but only gave 4 stars because you should NEVER soak mushrooms. All that does is add more moisture to them....and makes them soggy. They were a little dry, but the flavor is nice. I will probably add to my recipe file...and make again. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crab Stuffed Mushrooms

Baked mushrooms are stuffed with seasoned crabmeat.

How to Make Stuffed Mushrooms

Enjoy baked mushroom caps stuffed with a delicious vegetarian filling.

Mouth-Watering Stuffed Mushrooms

See how easy it is to make sensational stuffed mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States