Crab Stuffed Mushrooms III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2006
Ok I liked this recipe, but only gave 4 stars because you should NEVER soak mushrooms. All that does is add more moisture to them....and makes them soggy. They were a little dry, but the flavor is nice. I will probably add to my recipe file...and make again. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2006
I love stuffed mushrooms and thought this recipe was quite good, however, next time I won't soak the mushrooms first as it made them kind of soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah S

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coronach, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Ljugarn, Gotlands, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2004
NEVER, EVER, soak mushrooms in water! This is a definite no no when preparing them as they'll end up soaking up all that water. Simply wipe them with a damp paper towel. The filling was very good, although I cheated and used Boursin herbed cream cheese instead of having to add my own seasonings. I also took it a step further and placed the mushrooms on a small square of Phyllo dough and wrapped them up into little bundles before I baked. Very nice appetizer Lynda and thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2003
This recipe tremendously dissapointed me..I feel that the mushrooms were over wet..and that the celery played a horrible part in the overall dish. The filling left much to be desired..there are numerous changes to be made to this..please do not try this at home, unless under the eye of a trained professional...It was incredibly bland...I am glad I experimented before serving to guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2002
Not a big fan of this recipie. Soaking them in water and lemon made them extremely watery. They were bursing with water when we ate them. Also, the uncooked onion and celery made for an unpleasant crunchy texture. They were also bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
I tried this recipe for the 4th of July. The mushroom caps were gone as soon as the first few people arrived! They loved it! Its a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2006
Cut the recipe. I used imitation crab and the flavor just wasn't there. Next time I'd use real crab..and up teh spice a bit more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2004
This is a great recipe. I did change a few things though. I skipped the soaking in lemon juice and pouring the water over the mushrooms. Then I added 1-2 cloves of garlic and near the end of baking time I topped with mozzarella cheese until browned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2006
never soak or wet mushrooms---they will get extremely tough and "rubbery" recipe was ok. i prefer more flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luckyjen7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
Very good...I didnt soak the mushrooms. Rinse and pat dry then put just the caps (unstuffed) in the casserole dish with a few pats of margarine. Put the dish in the preheated oven just til the butter melts and then toss the caps in it. This keeps them moist and flavorful. I had no celery, so I used scallion and added some minced jarred roasted red pepper (pimiento). Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katiemae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harveys Lake, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crab Stuffed Mushrooms

Baked mushrooms are stuffed with seasoned crabmeat.

How to Make Stuffed Mushrooms

Enjoy baked mushroom caps stuffed with a delicious vegetarian filling.

Mouth-Watering Stuffed Mushrooms

See how easy it is to make sensational stuffed mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States