Crab Stuffed Haddock Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by moggy
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
This was pretty good,we used Corvina instead of Haddock because that was the best looking yesterday at the fish market. I used white wine instead of lemon because my S.O hates lemon and he can detect it even if there is a 1/2 teaspoon in a recipe. I also added 1/2 teaspoon of Old Bay because it needed a little more flavor. I will probably make this again, but next time I think I'll use Parmigiano Reggiano instead of the Romano cheese ~ personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sluicepoint
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
I made the stuffing from this recipe and prepared my haddock as directed in Chef John's crab stuffed sole recipe. The portions were huge, but we like food! I live in a fishing community and had both fresh snow crab and haddock. The lemon zest mayo from Chef John's crab stuffed sole recipe added some incredible flavour without overpowering, and the stuffing from this recipe is nice and light. Will definitely be making again. Note that I had enough stuffing left over after having stuffed 6 fillets to make about a half dozen crab-stuffed mushroom caps (they freeze very well).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
This was excellent. Not difficult to make either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
I really loved this dish! I like the fact that the crab stuffing has more crab than bread and actually very little bread. I added a 1/2 tsp of Old Bay - but, I do that with almost everything I make because it gives it that Deep South seafood taste I crave. I also sprinkled some on top too while it was baking. I may try baking only 15 min next time when covered. I like my fish a little more moist. Very delicious! I'm also going to try this with the au gratin sauce from the baked haddock au gratin I made last week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharra Way-Bingham

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
I used all the ingredients as listed except substituted red pepper for tomato because it is winter and tomatoes not so hot in winter. it gave a great sweetness along with the celery crunch which worked with thickness of the crab in texture. Did use canned crab but no alternate. Wonderful recipe! A keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
I'm anxiously awaiting the result of this recipe, as it has about 10 more minutes to finish cooking. I have been reading other suggestions as I wait. Meanwhile, I can say I cut the bread down to about half (I just don't like a lot of filler in my crab). The stuffing seemed a bit moist, probably due to removing some bread--probably as one reviewer mentioned, it seemed moist to them even with all the bread. I put a dash of wine in the bottom, as I usually do with baked fish. And the verdict is...not too shabby!. I'm glad I left out some bread. Half was more than enough. I'm not totally impressed with cubed bread vs. bread crumbs, but it's a nice change in texture. With the wine reduced in the bottom, the moisture was actually just right (I don't know how y'all can do without a splash of wine on bake fish!) The tomato adds a nice, understated flavor I don't usually use. All-in-all, I'll be making it again! Now, let's see what kind of crab cakes the leftovers make (the penalty of cooking for yourself!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
A great Recipe, although due to the bread in the crabmeat and roasted vegetables it was a little dry. My second version included about 200ml of fish stock in the bottom of a cooking dish with the leftovers of the crabmix and some dill. The liquid mostly evaporates but what is left you can pour as you wish or not as the case may be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
Everyone liked this one! It is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by just_jam
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
this recipe was really really good.. it's so opposite of your other submitted recipes that were so simplistic.. source? **note.. i used fresh crab.. breadcrumbs instead of the bread.. the equivalent of a tomato from canned diced tomatoes.. didn't do the whole brush the haddock with butter.. just seasoned it lightly with season salt.. and the cheese was a romano/asiago/parm blend
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
This was absolutely delicious!! I made a few variations. I do not like celery so I substituted that ingredient for green onion. I also used a can of rotel instead of the fresh tomatoes. I also used fresh catfish fillets instead of the haddock only because the market did not have any fresh haddock fillets. This is definetly a keeper in the recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dhall

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Bedford, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chef John's Crab Stuffed Sole

See how to prepare the easiest “fancy” fish recipe of all time.

Crab Stuffed Mushrooms

Baked mushrooms are stuffed with seasoned crabmeat.

Authentic Low-Country Crab Boil

In just 99 seconds, we’ll show you how to throw an authentic crab boil!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States