Crab Stuffed Flounder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2006
Absolutely delicious. Made a few changes since there were mixed reviews about the mayo topping and the lack of seasonings. Well first I used 2 cans of crabmeat, tripled the mustard, crackers and worchestire, added some garlic powder, minced onion, parsley and chili powder. To the fish I brushed on melted butter mixed with some lemon juice and garlic powder. To the mayo topping I used about 4 TB and added about 2 TB of sherry to smooth it out. Turned out absolutely delicious, although next time to make it more resturant quality I'll skip the mayo mixture on top and instead make a sherry cream sauce from roux, and pour it on just before serving for a more impressive presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
157 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Joplin, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2002
I made this recipe last night...I had purchased the crabmeat on a whim and happened to have flounder in the freezer. I did not have any green bell pepper or mustard powder. I used one tsp dijon mustard in it's place. It turned out very well, but a little bland. Definately needed more salt and I wish I had added some Old Bay, which I did have in my spice cabinet, but forgot about. My family enjoyed it, but agreed it needed just a little more pizazz. The mayo and egg yolk mixture on top was very good...reminded me of hollindaise sauce. It looked very nice on the plate, like something you'd get at a quality seafood restarant. I will definately make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willingboro, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mount Laurel, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2003
Completely Awesome! I have to admit I am impressed with myself...and I owe it to the recipe. It tasted just like we were in a restaurant...even better. I substituted the saltines with a buttery round cracker and dashed in some old bay. My three year old even ate it. Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
Absolutely delicious, just as written. What a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Chef Joy
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
HELPFUL TIP: For a more gourmet look, I decided to put the crabmeat in the middle and wrap the cut strips of flounder around the meat, ...kind of like you would if it were bacon. I thought it looked a little better :) I also added salt to the fish. Then I added several dashes of old bay and garlic to the crab mixture. If I don't have green pepper, I use red. It's no biggie, and it brings some color to it. I only had a few eggs left and needed them to make something else that night, so I didn't make the topping this time but it does taste delish!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Joy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2007
Two words: DEE LICIOUS!!! I used two huge red snapper fillets because I couldn't find flounder. Seasoned them with a mixture of melted butter,Emeril's Essence,and minced garlic. For the crab filling I used ritz crackers instead of saltines and dijon mustard in place of mustard powder. Seasoned the filling with plenty of Old Bay. I had my doubts about the sauce but I made it any way and I'm glad I did. As other members have said,it looked like an omlette on top but a very tasty omlette. This dish is on the menu at my next dinner party. No need to get all fancy with fresh crab. Canned works just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Reidsville, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2003
Wow! I prepared this recipe with fresh flounder and used imitation crab meat in the filler. Alterations to the crab mixture: added chopped onions and Old Bay. This recipe was so easy to use, with ingredients I already had in my cabinet (besides the seafood!). I increased the stuffing quantity and "wrapped" filets around mounds of crab. Was unsure about the mayo/egg sauce but it was the perfect touch! Makes a wonderful presentation and really tastes terrific.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2007
3.5 stars. It was a very easy recipe, but I think it lacked some flavor. It's a good base recipe; I would use more worch. sauce, maybe even marinate the fillets in the sauce before. The crab topping was good (still lacking some spice), but the fish was pretty bland. I think it would work better if you baked it in a pan that was a bit too small, that way all the juices and sauce/juices don't run all over and instead get absorbed by the fish & topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by w

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2001
Oh my God!! This must be what they serve when we go to heaven, because this recipe was out of this world!! I used canned crab meat which made the preparation go quicker. Also, for next time, I will use less mayo and butter to top the flounder, then what the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FoodieGeek
Reviewed: May 7, 2008
This dish looked awesome!!! And it was easy enough to serve on a Wednesday night! I followed a few reviewers suggestions to add some Old Bay and extra worchestershire sauce, but I found it a little salty for my taste. I'm sure that when I try the recipe as written it will be perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 272) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Crab Stuffed Sole

See how to prepare the easiest “fancy” fish recipe of all time.

Crab Stuffed Mushrooms

Baked mushrooms are stuffed with seasoned crabmeat.

How to Make Crab Cakes

See how to make a cakes recipe that really shows off quality crabmeat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States