Crab Stuffed Flounder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
I made this for my husband and myself. We LOVED it. He said it was restaurant-quality in taste and appearance. After reading the reviews I also tripled the mustard (I used dijon), crackers (I used Club), worceshire, and then added garlic powder and Old Bay to the crab mixture. I also sprinkled both side of the fish with garlic powder and Old Bay before putting the crab mixture on. It was GREAT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
I saw this recipe online about 10 years ago and have been using it ever since! The only things I use differently are to add to add Old Bay and -believe it or not- use the imitation shredded "krab". Before any of you crabmeat fanatics cringe at the use of imitation, I say TRY IT FIRST!!! I LOVE crab, but actually prefer the "krab" for this recipe, as it has a slightly sweeter and lighter texture (not to mention less expensive as a bonus!). I've made it both ways and it is simply scrumptious with several types of fish. I wrap the fish around a mound of the stuffing, and with the creamy sauce poured over top, it looks like a 5-star presentation! Family and friends are always impressed and ask me to make it again and again. Definitely an easy, keeper recipe. Did I mention leftovers are yummy too?????
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
I made this last night for myself. I made more filling as I love the crab. I did make a mistake and mixed the eggwhite with the mayo instead of the yolk. Would you believe it was delicious! Great for those watching their cholesterol. Will definitely make again to see what it is supposed to be like with the yolk. Just Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mcwarrick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Photo by Tiffany
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
Delicious! I used salmon instead of flounder as my grocery store only had frozen flounder and I didn't have time to thaw it. I prepared and cooked it according to the recipe and added a little bit of shredded cheddar cheese to the crab stuffing. It was delicious. My husband's favorite fish is salmon and he said it was the best he'd ever had. He loved it with the crab on top. We will definitely make this over and over. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
I was sooo disappointed!! Fishy taste!!! I used 2 cans of crab and a can of baby shrimp rinsed and drained. Followed the advise of using Old Bay on the fish and in the stuffing and followed the recipe after that. So fishy we could barely finish one piece each!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
I omitted pepper, salt and added Old Bay. I also used fresh parsley, omitted green pepper and used Ritz crackers in place of saltines. It was excellent! My family are not big mayonnaise fans but they did not even know it was in it. They thought it was some type of cheese sauce on top and definately could not taste it in the crabmeat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Danville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef Joy
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
HELPFUL TIP: For a more gourmet look, I decided to put the crabmeat in the middle and wrap the cut strips of flounder around the meat, ...kind of like you would if it were bacon. I thought it looked a little better :) I also added salt to the fish. Then I added several dashes of old bay and garlic to the crab mixture. If I don't have green pepper, I use red. It's no biggie, and it brings some color to it. I only had a few eggs left and needed them to make something else that night, so I didn't make the topping this time but it does taste delish!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Joy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
Easy, Quick, and Flavorful! I added a pinch of garlic powder to the crab mixture and substituted red bell pepper for green, it made nice color. You can use any type of cracker as well. I didn't have saltine so I used a butter cracker, like ritz. I will make again. Looks very nice, would be a good meal with company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Hershey, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
I have made the sauce as written and also with a little added Old Bay. I think the extra spice gives something to the recipe. I have also used tilapia instead of flounder and it has been very tasty. Absolutely a recipe that will be made many times in my kitchen. Thanks DTHOMRN!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
This was delicious! My hubby and I caught 2 stripers last night and I wanted to make it all fancy for him (at least for the first filet). I made the recipe exactly as written, only exception is the mustard. I used spicy brown mustard as it was all I had on hand. Still turned out great. Hubby cleaned his plate and asked that we eat the leftovers tomorrow night. (fine with me, easy dinner tomorrow!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela's

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 262) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Crab Stuffed Sole

See how to prepare the easiest “fancy” fish recipe of all time.

Crab Stuffed Mushrooms

Baked mushrooms are stuffed with seasoned crabmeat.

Crab Salad

This quick, creamy salad is tops spread on sandwiches or over crackers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States