Crab Stuffed Flounder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
Awesome recipe. Being that I live on Lake Superior in Michigan's UP, I used a whole whitefish from a local fish market and canned lump crab meat for the stuffing that filled the body cavity. Followed the recipe exactly other than that and it was epic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
Fantastic! Here's the couple of changes I made: 1) Used red bell pepper vs. green: red seems sweeter and not as overpowering as green, IMO 2) Replaced the 1/4 tsp salt & white pepper with 1/4 - 1/2 tsp Old Bay seasoning. 3) Used only 2 Tbsp butter. Used half to "grease" a foil lined baking pan instead of coating the fish. 4) Used kosher salt and fresh ground black pepper on the fish before topping with crab 5) Substituted more Old Bay for the paprika This is a dish you can definitely add more spice to, if you like it. Also, I used tilapia because that's what I had, and it worked very well. I think any mild white fish would be fine. I'd advise not skipping the yolk/mayo topping, it's richness really takes this from a plain old fish recipe to a company-worthy meal. Thanks DTHOMRN for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
Pretty good. I followed the recipe closely but with some extra seasoning (Old Bay in the crab mixture, salt & pepper on the fish). Had to get the right ratio between crab stuffing and fish, otherwise the crab taste overwhelmed. And it could still have used more seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
This is really important: DO NOT USE ARROWTOOTH FLOUNDER. If you do, the entire dish will turn into a mushy paste. I recommend using sole. I've also tried the recipe with snapper and it worked well. The recipe "as is" is pretty tasty. I modified it slightly by using butter crackers instead of saltines. I also pan fried the fish before adding the crab layer on top and then baking the entire dish (but reducing the baking time).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
Awesome dinner...so easy and quick. I di add. Little more of everything to the stuffing though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Athens, Georgia, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 31, 2011
I made this recipe exactly as written. My family enjoyed it and we had no leftovers. I couldn't give it five stars because everyone had suggestions for additional flavor (Old Bay, green onions, bread crumbs). I will definitely make again and pump up the flavor a bit with Old Bay and possibly a smidge of red pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KANANICOOKS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Sarajevo, Federation Of Bosnia And Herzegovina, Bosnia And Herzegovina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
We loved this! But.... I added old bay and without it I really don't think it wouldn't have been as good. I made it with tilapia (our favorite) and I used a pinch of red pepper powder also. I used a large can of lump crab (about 2 cups) the one in the seafood cooler, not the one next to the canned tuna. I then doubled everything else. Everyone in my house loved it and that is not the norm here. With old bay it is def. a 5 star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Heilwood, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
excellent, followed recipte to a "T", except had no crackers, used a matza instead, just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bayport, New York, USA
Living In: Smithtown, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
Thought this was fabulous. Didn't have dry mustard so used a mustard I had on hand. Really tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Meadow, New York, USA
Living In: Bethpage, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
We just had this for dinner. I substituted onion for pepper, artificial crab for real and chopped it up real fine and Ritz insead of Saltines. My husband raved about it and now I am too. Thanks for a delicious dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 262) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Crab Stuffed Sole

See how to prepare the easiest “fancy” fish recipe of all time.

Crab Stuffed Mushrooms

Baked mushrooms are stuffed with seasoned crabmeat.

Crab Salad

This quick, creamy salad is tops spread on sandwiches or over crackers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States