Crab Stuffed Flounder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
Great easy recipe! I did add some old bay and left out the peppers but that is just my taste. Everyone gobbled it up! Will be making it plenty more time Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
This was delicious - the whole family loved it! I used 2 cans of crabmeat and 2T of mayo in the stuffing because I knew they would all love more stuffing. I also used Panko breadcrumbs instead of the saltine crackers (about 1/3 cup). I folded the flounder over the stuffing. My son was upset that there wasn't enough for him to have another serving! Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chickenlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
Loved it. I, too, doubled the mustard and Worcestershire. Also added about 1/2 tsp. of Old Bay seasoning, and I believe this made a difference. Not bland at all. I did not put the yolk and mayo sauce on top of the stuffing as it didn't sound good to me. I think it was fine without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LORISPAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnebago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
Excellent as is! Even my kids liked it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
Very, very good! My flounder fillets seemed awfully thin to me, so I made a "sandwich" out of this using the crab as the filling. We enjoyed these very much and will have them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mother Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streetsboro, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
Awesome recipe. Being that I live on Lake Superior in Michigan's UP, I used a whole whitefish from a local fish market and canned lump crab meat for the stuffing that filled the body cavity. Followed the recipe exactly other than that and it was epic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
Fantastic! Here's the couple of changes I made: 1) Used red bell pepper vs. green: red seems sweeter and not as overpowering as green, IMO 2) Replaced the 1/4 tsp salt & white pepper with 1/4 - 1/2 tsp Old Bay seasoning. 3) Used only 2 Tbsp butter. Used half to "grease" a foil lined baking pan instead of coating the fish. 4) Used kosher salt and fresh ground black pepper on the fish before topping with crab 5) Substituted more Old Bay for the paprika This is a dish you can definitely add more spice to, if you like it. Also, I used tilapia because that's what I had, and it worked very well. I think any mild white fish would be fine. I'd advise not skipping the yolk/mayo topping, it's richness really takes this from a plain old fish recipe to a company-worthy meal. Thanks DTHOMRN for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
Pretty good. I followed the recipe closely but with some extra seasoning (Old Bay in the crab mixture, salt & pepper on the fish). Had to get the right ratio between crab stuffing and fish, otherwise the crab taste overwhelmed. And it could still have used more seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
This is really important: DO NOT USE ARROWTOOTH FLOUNDER. If you do, the entire dish will turn into a mushy paste. I recommend using sole. I've also tried the recipe with snapper and it worked well. The recipe "as is" is pretty tasty. I modified it slightly by using butter crackers instead of saltines. I also pan fried the fish before adding the crab layer on top and then baking the entire dish (but reducing the baking time).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
Awesome dinner...so easy and quick. I di add. Little more of everything to the stuffing though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Athens, Georgia, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 267) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Crab Stuffed Sole

See how to prepare the easiest “fancy” fish recipe of all time.

Crab Stuffed Mushrooms

Baked mushrooms are stuffed with seasoned crabmeat.

How to Make Crab Cakes

See how to make a cakes recipe that really shows off quality crabmeat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States