Crab-Stuffed Filet Mignon with Whiskey Peppercorn Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2003
Excellent! Leftovers are as good as the first day if not better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2003
absolutely phenomenal recipe. has a very heavy sauce that does not taste heavy. very very good - we used london broil and it was yummy too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janine Rella Frank

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2003
We made this recipe, minus the crab-stuffing, for a small dinner with friends and it was excellent! The sauce was very flavorful, and it tasted just as good as it smelled!! Will definitely be passing this recipe along.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2003
I found this recipe VERY time consuming but it's EXCELLENT. At the end I got bored and added cornstarch to the sauce instead of bringing it down to a cup and I used shrimp instead of crab. I also chopped the mushrooms and used a little extra. My hubby loved it!! I may cook it again if I had a full day to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2003
Great! I took the advise to finish cooking it on the grill and it turned out amazing. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2003
Very time consuming. If I were to make this again, I would forget about the crab stuffing. Cooked in the skilled and finished on the grill. The sauce was great and would make that again to use on any kind of steak. I think it would also be fine without the mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2003
I'm giving this recipe 2 stars (for time), flavor deserves 5. BEWARE! It takes much longer than 1 1/2 hours to make. Start it about 3 hours before you plan on serving (2 1/2 if you plan on making nothing to go with it). Also, not a budget friendly recipe. Forget about using shrimp stock. This is an ingredient that you cannot buy at your local grocery store. The crab stuffing was the easiest part of recipe. It was very tasty and would advise doubling the mixture if you wish to have "genorously stuffed" mignons. The peppercorn sauce smells so good while cooking, but takes forever to simmer down. By the way, if anyone is unsure what constitutes "heavy cream", I asked several people (including dairy manager) & nobody knew for sure. Some said "whipping cream" and others claimed "half and half". I found out for sure that it's "whipping cream"! All in all, very tasty. Not quite sure it was worth the effort. Since I was the cook, thrill of eating was gone by the time I was able to sit down. The people I fed it to, loved it. I was over it! LOL! I served it with fried asparagus, baked red taters & crusty Freedom (french) rolls. Will not make again unless a VERY special occasion (extremely hot date, in-laws, etc...) All said, it really is a 5 star recipe (if you have the time).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2003
this was a great recipe. it was A LOT of prep but the sauce was excellent. i would even use just the sauce and steak without the stuffing. great sauce!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2003
I made this for my boyfriend's birthday and he was floored. This recipe truly rivals any four-star restaurant's best offering. I would advise against making the sauce the day before, however. By the time I used it the next day, it had separated a little. Fabulous recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2003
The whiskey peppercorn sauce is awesome! I used what I had on hand - a nice thick sirloin in place of the filets and skipped the crab stuffing and mushroom mixture and it was fantastic! I used a little corn starch to speed up the thickening of the sauce at the end. The way I prepared it only took about 30 minutes! I will make this a regular and will add the mushroom mixture the next time. Thanks Sue Z. for a wonderful, divine recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VICBEN
Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 234) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Easy Yet Romantic Filet Mignon

All you need are a few minutes to make perfect bacon-wrapped filet mignon.

Filet Mignon with Rich Balsamic Glaze

See how to make an impressive steak dinner for two that's also quick and easy!

Beef Medallions with Caramelized Pan Sauce

An elegant beef tenderloin dish that’s surprisingly quick and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States