Crab-Stuffed Filet Mignon with Whiskey Peppercorn Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
YUM! Not sure where to start with this one really. It was all great, the sauce is incredible, the crab stuffing was amazing, and put it all together and you end up with one fan-tab-ulous dish! I would say, as others have noted, that you do not need the crab stuffing to "make" this. The star really is the sauce. I did not use bacon, even though I love bacon...just thought it was rich enough and not neccessary. Did follow one reviewers though on preparing the sauce well in advance and letting it sit to thicken. As it was doing this, I did add butter to sauce which seemed to add to the richness. There are a dozen different things to use this sauce for and just as many ways to change around the prep of the dish and how you serve it. With or without bacon, with or without the crab stuffing, and so on. Another thing I did, was seared the filet in hot pan then finished off in the oven. As I said, I made th esauce in advance and in that I left the shallots and mushrooms. Did not take long to prepare or put on the table and hubby said it was way better than anything we could have ordered out. ENJOY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Havre De Grace, Maryland, USA
Living In: Forest Hill, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
Amazing, easily among the best dishes I've made. Took a little over an hour to prep and cook, and I'm somewhat of a novice when it comes to cooking, so ignore the reviewer that claimed it took over 3 hours. Smaller filets work best since this is a super filing dish! Thanks again for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
I read some of the other reviews EVEN BEFORE I made it and I should have heeded. The crab is just overkill for an otherwise perfect dish. We had steamed broccoli and a parmesan risotto with ours. I will definetly take the time to make this again. BTW you should double the sauce recipe if you cut out the crab. Very rich and decadent but fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
Made for Christmas dinner and everyone LOVED it. Reviews are right, sauce is great. I said I guess we really didn't need to stuff it with crab and by youngest boy said, on no! Please always make it with the crab!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
This is one of the best steaks I have ever had! All 12 guests have requested the recipe and said that it was the "best steak they had in years!" Here is what I did different and recommend: I subtituted lobster for crab. I used two large tails which was plenty for the 12 filets. I also used butter and olive oil to saute the lobster stuffing. The sauce does take forever to reduce and thicken so in the future I will make earlier in the day. I didn't wrap the steaks with bacon since I realized that I didn't have enough on hand and don't feel that it was missed at all. Between the richness of the sauce and the lobster stuffing you don't need the bacon. I also modified the sauce and served it as is at the end of the 2nd step ( I omitted the last step of adding mushrooms,etc. as my husband doesn't like them.) Instead, I sauteed an assortment of wild mushrooms in butter, wine and thyme and served this as a sidedish. It was so fabulous that I am making it again on Christmas Day!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
This rating is for the sauce alone, very creamy and complements the streak well. I served it with filet mignon but did not follow this recipe with the crab stuffing, sounds good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by California Cookin'
Home Town: Fremont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
As most indicated the sauce is fantastic. Definitely you can eliminate the crab stuffing without taking anything away from the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
This was amazing, I made it for my boyfriend on his birthday and he said it was the best meal ever. I used filet mignon which are always good on their own but I didn't end up using the crab stuffing after all, I tasted it before I stuffed the steaks and didn't really like it enough to put into such a nice steak. It wasn't missed because of how delicious the sauce was. The sauce was the best part of this, my only problem was the garlic cooked too much, next time I'll be really careful with the garlic in the pan.. after you cook the garlic and then add mushrooms, and then the steak, the garlic ended up black before I could deglaze the pan. I think it was my mistake but it happened so fast. I would also recommend to half-cook the bacon before you wrap it around the steak if you like it crisped, it was kind of chewy because it didn't get to cook very long in the pan (I like my steak medium rare to rare, so the cook time was only about 7 minutes) All in all it was delicious, this recipe is time consuming so I prepared caesar salad and double stuffed baked potatoes earlier in the day, which helped a lot time-wise
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
The wife and kids loved the recipe. The only thing that I added was 1 tablespoon of hot sauce to the sauce because my family likes things a little spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashland, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
Made this for my husband for father's day, and he said it was better than ANY filet mignon he's ever had at any steak restaurant. It truly was an amazing dish. You will not be disappointed. I prepared garlic mashed potatoes and steamed asparagus to go with it. Also, it may take longer than the 1 hour 30 minutes from start to finish. It took me 2 hours, but I think it's because I had to cook the steaks a little longer because they were so thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 238) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Yet Romantic Filet Mignon

All you need are a few minutes to make perfect bacon-wrapped filet mignon.

Filet Mignon with Rich Balsamic Glaze

See how to make an impressive steak dinner for two that's also quick and easy!

Beef Medallions with Caramelized Pan Sauce

An elegant beef tenderloin dish that’s surprisingly quick and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States