Crab-Stuffed Filet Mignon with Whiskey Peppercorn Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
I made this for Valentine's last night and it was amazing! The only thing that didn't go quite right was that my sauce did not thicken as much as I expected it to. Also, I thought the pepper taste was a little overpowering; maybe next time I wouldn't put any extra pepper on the steaks for seasoning because the sauce adds plenty of flavor. Nevertheless, it was a delicious and very special meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by C.Hop

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anderson, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
My husband and I loved this recipe. It does take a while to prepare everything but that is to be expected. I would suggest to start the sauce first to allow time for it to cook down. I didn't reduce it as much as the recipe suggested, I used cornstarch to thicken it. We also did not fry the steaks, we grilled them. This was melt in your mouth delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
Excellent dish! The preparation does take a while so do heed the suggestions from others to get all the ingredients ready before cooking. This means chop and pour everything you need to and set them aside before you proceed to cooking. One reviewer said you can do it all in 40 mins. I found that to be realistically impossible. Give yourself about 1.5 hours. I found it useful to start with the pepper corn sauce first, let it simmer while preparing the crab stuffing. My steaks were thick so after searing for 10-15 min on the cast iron skillet, I placed the skillet containing the steaks in the oven for another 7-10 min to allow the meat to cook through. If you the meat medium rare like I do, you'll find some pink blood draining from the meat. Don't worry about this because it will be masked by the peppercorn sauce. I served the dish with brussel sprouts and red potatoes lightly stirred fried with a little butter and garlic. It's an excellent dish and well worth your time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
My husband made this for me last nite for a Valentine's Day dinner & it was absolutely the best thing ever! He put a salad with it & a glass of merlot! AWESOME! It was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
Made this one for Valentines dinner and it turned out beautifully. Made it almost exactly as the recipe called for. I used strip steaks rather than filet mignon. Some reviews made me think this was going to be really challenging, but it was just involved. I would recommend doing all your chopping and prep first, then start the sauce. While the sauce is reducing, make up the crab stuffing. Also, if you make the sauce in a skillet rather than a saucepan, it will reduce quicker. If you have to impress someone, this is the recipe to use!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teri

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
I made this recipe for a very special occasion. It was worth every minute. I tripled the recipe for 12 filets and didn't waiver a bit on the instructions. I took into consideration other comments and prepared my kitchen for the task. With a little multi tasking the meal with 12 baked potatoes, an asparagus side with an appetizer of fresh tomatoes mozzarella topped with balsamic glaze was prepared in under two hours. It is important to start with the sauce first if time is of the essence. Our guest loved it and were delighted to find the crab.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aggony

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
This was absolutely delicious! The whiskey sauce is to die for! I will however use the author's tip of browning first and then finishing off on the grill the next time. It was hard to tell when they were finished by cooking completely in the pan on the stove. Also next time I will use reduced sodium beef broth as it did seem too salty and use more mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Gregory

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garden City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Milford, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
I made this for my hubby as he really enjoyed the crab stuffed steak at Longhorn Steak house. I followed the recipe exactly and cooked the steak partially in the pan and partially on the grill. We both thought the flavor was great but a little salty (and we normally like salt). Not sure how to cut it down for next time other than rinsing the crab meat first or cutting the cajun seasoning in half. I didn't salt and pepper the steaks prior to cooking them since I knew we'd be putting sauce on them! Not terribly time consuming but was in the kitchen for about 1 hour and 45 min. from start to finish and I cook a lot!! Definately a make again with a few tweaks to try to eliminate some salt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by energy_train
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
I made this for my husband and I tonight and have to say he thought this was the best steak he ever had. Than you for this recipe! I am now a rockstar wife!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
YUM! Not sure where to start with this one really. It was all great, the sauce is incredible, the crab stuffing was amazing, and put it all together and you end up with one fan-tab-ulous dish! I would say, as others have noted, that you do not need the crab stuffing to "make" this. The star really is the sauce. I did not use bacon, even though I love bacon...just thought it was rich enough and not neccessary. Did follow one reviewers though on preparing the sauce well in advance and letting it sit to thicken. As it was doing this, I did add butter to sauce which seemed to add to the richness. There are a dozen different things to use this sauce for and just as many ways to change around the prep of the dish and how you serve it. With or without bacon, with or without the crab stuffing, and so on. Another thing I did, was seared the filet in hot pan then finished off in the oven. As I said, I made th esauce in advance and in that I left the shallots and mushrooms. Did not take long to prepare or put on the table and hubby said it was way better than anything we could have ordered out. ENJOY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Havre De Grace, Maryland, USA
Living In: Forest Hill, Maryland, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 237) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Yet Romantic Filet Mignon

All you need are a few minutes to make perfect bacon-wrapped filet mignon.

Filet Mignon with Rich Balsamic Glaze

See how to make an impressive steak dinner for two that's also quick and easy!

Beef Medallions with Caramelized Pan Sauce

An elegant beef tenderloin dish that’s surprisingly quick and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States