Crab-Stuffed Filet Mignon with Whiskey Peppercorn Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by LatinaCook
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
I liked this A LOT! Made exactly as directed EXCEPT I used half and half instead of heavy cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
This was fantastic, however I like my filet mignon a little on the rare side. I didn't like the idea of the crab meat on the inside soaking up all the blood and juces from the raw beef and I knew that the bacon wouldn't cook crispy in the time it takes to cook a rare steak. I skipped the bacon completely (c'mon, who needs crab stuffing, cream sauce AND bacon??I just can't handle that much giult in one meal!) instead of stuffing the filets, I seared them on the stove in a hot cast iron pan, then moved them to a foil lined baking sheet, I topped them with the crab meat stuffing, a small pat of butter on top and put them under the broiler until the stuffing browned on top. It was spectacular
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
I was dissapointed! For all the work and such a fancy-sounding title, I had hoped for better flavor. There are better steak recipes on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZZY9VOLT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
I hate to give 2 stars..... But.. I followed the recipe as is. The bacon surely needs to be cooked prior to wrapping around the steak (otherwise it won't be cooked at all)... I LOVE steak and seafood... We bought really nice filets and couldn't even taste the flavor of the meat because it was so ovewhlemed with the sauce & stuffing. The stuffing doesn't even have crab taste to it. This was a great idea, but didn't pan out well for a couple who LOVE the flavor of a good steak and fresh crab meat...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
I agree with the other reviews, awesome, awesome, awesome meal! Restaurant quality, but I am so tired after making this meal. I would buy all the ingredients already minced, and I personally would skip the mushrooms. I also made potatoes and asparagus to go with it. Tasted great! I used J.Daniels for the whiskey. I was confused about cooking the filet, but I placed it in the skillet and turned it over about three times and then placed it in a 350 degree oven for about ten minutes. Turned out perfectly medium. Put the thick cut bacon in the oven on 450 for about ten minutes, keeps it's shape better in the oven when you cook it what way. My filets were about 3 inches thick, so adjust time accordingly. Great, great recipe, terrible to make on a work night :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
Sooooo gooood! My husband loves this so much. I don't do seafood so I had my steak without the crab stuffing and it was very good. It was a very special romantic dinner and I couldn't have chosen a better meal for him. I will definately be fixing this for him again and again. I didn't think it was to time consuming to make, but then again, I love to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karen w

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Racine, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Clearwater, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
Delicious. Everything blended together perfectly! Only problem I had was it was hard to tell if the steaks were done due to the stuffing and bacon! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
i have prepared this dish for years. we have a large family and i cook alot. my 5 boys can't get enough of this and it always ends up the birthday request meal. although time consuming - this is more than worth the effort. since you will be stuck in the kitchen anyway, don't use canned crab. large chunks of king crab legs make it that much more special and eliminates the salty/fishy flavor some have mentioned. the sauce - by far - the most outstanding. make this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
The peppercorn sauce is WONDERFUL!! The filet is the sauce delivery device and the stuffing is the icing. I sopped up the last bit of sauce in the pan with a slice of bread it is that yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
I followed this recipe exactly as written, and it was FABULOUS! The only thing I would change is to double the sauce :) Yummy!! It's totally worth the time it takes to prepare..Thanks for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 234) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Yet Romantic Filet Mignon

All you need are a few minutes to make perfect bacon-wrapped filet mignon.

Filet Mignon with Rich Balsamic Glaze

See how to make an impressive steak dinner for two that's also quick and easy!

Beef Medallions with Caramelized Pan Sauce

An elegant beef tenderloin dish that’s surprisingly quick and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States