Crab-Stuffed Filet Mignon with Whiskey Peppercorn Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
Definitely took a long time to prepare the sauce (maybe an hour) but my boyfriend and I loved this. We used Woodford Reserve whiskey and we think it made a big difference. Cooked in the skillet this time but will probably grill the filets next time. Served with roasted garlic mashed potatoes and roasted asparagus. Great for Valentine's Day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by panda86

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brunswick, Georgia, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
I really wish I could give this 100 stars! I didn't make the crab stuffing but I'm rating this for the sauce. It was one of the best things I've ever made from this website. First, let me say, that it is time consuming, but, oh so worth it. When my very fussy, picky husband said it tastes like something you get from a 5 star restaurant (and he'd eaten all over the world) then I know I've got a winner. The method of reducing the sauce takes about 45-50 minutes. I kept checking it but it looked like it was reducing, but finally, it seems in the last 5 minutes it reduced to the most best flavor, thick sauce. Then using the crimini mushrooms was so great and the whiskey was perfect. I will definately be making this again and plan on serving it to guests next time. Thank you so much for posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Just a personal taste, but I preferred these without the crab stuffing. Not only does the crab stuffing make this dish shoot way up ($$), but I thought it tasted too rich and added a lot more steps of work! The sauce is great, and so I will make this again w/ just the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becca

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sugar Land, Texas, USA
Living In: College Station, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
wonderful. Great flavor, great recipe, just have to alot time to make this and it really isn''t that time consuming gj suezinohio you've got my stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JJsMama
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
This was absolutely delicious. By far one of the best recipes I've ever made. The sauce by itself was to die for and deserves 10 stars, it can be used on so many different things. It's a very pricey meal which is why it sat in my recipe box for over 2 years. We made it on Christmas Eve and even though I made the crab stuffing and began the sauce, as well as stuffed the steaks beforehand, it still took forever. I don't think I'll make this again because after all the time it took and the cost of the meal, we might as well have went out to eat. It was very very good, though and kind of made me feel like a chef :) Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JJsMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
My daughter-in-law and son made this for my birthday celebration (so I can't speak to the ease of prep.) but it was just wonderful! The crabmeat stuffing was great in the filet and the sauce put it over the top. They served it with a salad and steamed asparagus. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Just the sauce - def takes hours to reduce. This is very good, but not 5 star. Very rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PICKLES00

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
INCREDIBLE! It really isn't difficult to make, but comes out very impressive. We stuff our filets with the crab mixture, wrap in bacon, and put them on the grill. YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Napa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Took WAY too much time to make this dish and the taste wasn't anything worth spending so much time on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
Stunning! Made it for my wedding anniversary and everyone wanted seconds (alas, there were none). I only made two substitutions - user whole green peppercorns for the sauce and wholegrain mustard instead of dijon. Oh, and I flambeed the steaks as well. Turned out excellent, thankyou author!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZatriX

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 41-50 (of 234) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Easy Yet Romantic Filet Mignon

All you need are a few minutes to make perfect bacon-wrapped filet mignon.

Filet Mignon with Rich Balsamic Glaze

See how to make an impressive steak dinner for two that's also quick and easy!

Beef Medallions with Caramelized Pan Sauce

An elegant beef tenderloin dish that’s surprisingly quick and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States