Crab-Stuffed Filet Mignon with Whiskey Peppercorn Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
Delicious! Enjoy the cooking process, have some wine, relax and the whole thing is great. I would add more sauce because ours reduced no problem (we used 10% cream). I also pre-cooked the bacon in the oven on a cookie sheet for 8 minutes on 350 to reduce the fat and ensure it was cooked. Obviously not a quick 'work night' meal and neither should it be. I'll repeat for sure but hold the crab in reserve for those 'special nights'. Thanks for the recipe Suzie! - Bud
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
This recipe is okay. The flavor of the sauce is certainly what makes this recipe stand out. However, I found that for such a time consuming recipe; the payoff wasn't nearly worth the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by steve379

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madelia, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Fairmont, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
Absolutely amazing. I made it last night, using two 6 oz. filets that I stuffed with the crab mixture. I made the full amount of stuffing, but it was more than I needed for two filets. I'd say it's the perfect amount for three well-filled filets, but you could stretch it to fill four filets. We ate the extra in the bowl. It was that delicious. I started the sauce early, since I read that it takes a while to reduce. So it worked perfectly. The sauce was ready the same time that the filets were done. About 45 minutes from start to finish, but not labor intensive. I made our other dishes while the sauce was reducing. Really delicious with a wonderful sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
This was incredible! We had to make a few modifications in our house because the only available filet mignon at the store was some small medallions so we couldn't quite stuff them. We made crab cakes on the side instead, and served both with the sauce. I have been hunting for a good peppercorn sauce recipe for quite some time-- this one will be added to my books. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
Wow! Company worthy and restaurant quality. We did not do the crab stuffing as we enjoy filet and did not want to detract from the beef. Yes, the sauce takes a while to make, but there is no need to reduce the broth and pepper over med stirring constantly>>> I boiled it down on high in a minute or 2. But before you put the cream in let it cool a minute, and that's when you need to take your time. We enjoy mushrooms with our steak and doubled the mushroom mixture>> can't imagine it would be enuf otherwise!!(used button mushrooms) and surprisingly I did not need to double the sauce. I'm surprised there were no instructions on actually cooking the filet. I used a piping hot cast iron skillet it to sear it (same one I did the mushrooms in), reduced heat a little and cooked til desired doneness (a couple we put under the broiler). Served with asparagus. Outstanding, will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eureka, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
We had this same recipe last year in Dublin at a Restaurant called the Lobster Pot, being from Maine we skipped the Lobster and went for the steak, having for two weeks indulged ourselves with the finest seafood in the world....bar none, Ireland is tops for all things coming out of the ocean. This dish does have a lot of steps and ingredients but if your fixing it for company you can do everything ahead of time and put it in holding pattern.....till it's time to sear the steaks, which really goes fast. This dish may also be fixed with a top-grade sirloin like they do in Ireland, but be aware their restaurant grade sirloin is far superior to ours, so buy the best or stick to a filet mignon tucking a scant teaspoon of frozen butter in with the crabmeat. This is absolutely my favorite meat dish...decadent! It is so rich, avoid the temptation of having rich side dishes, herbed/buttered string beans and a pretty salad w/pears/currents/chevre with a dash of Cherry Basalmic....oh my!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elizabeth32

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Yarmouth, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
Wow, so this recipe is a good one! HOWEVER, like some of the reviewers said, this DEFINITELY takes longer than an hour and a half!!! I should have known just by looking at the ingredients, but it took about 3 hours or so. And also, EXPENSIVE. I only made this because my grandpa came to town and wanted something fancier- and he bought the groceries (had most of the ingredients already), which were a staggering $80!!!!!! for 4 people...ouch. Either way, he appreciated my effort and both him and my husband were raving until we went to bed. I probably won't make this again unless it's a VERY special occasion and someone else is buying!!! But, all in all, great recipe...this is one of the few recipes I've done that I wouldn't have been able to come up with out of my head, and it was succulent. If you have the time and money, it's worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
It was so worth it! I made it for my two girls and my neighbor and my youngest daughter finished off everything and then some! I can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
Yep. Well worth it. Buy the best cut of meat possible. Sauce was fantastic. Think I'll forgo the bacon next time. Crab stuffing was great. I put it on top instead of stuffing and grilled the filets instead of doing them in the skillet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
This recipe is phenomenal! I reserve it for special occasions only, as it does take some time. The crab stuffing is great, but i prefer to put it on top of the steaks and drizzle everything with the sauce before serving. I also suggest partially cooking the bacon before attaching it to the steaks, it just makes it a bit crisper at the end. The sauce does take a while to simmer down, but if you start it first, and let it go while you do the rest of your cooking and prep work, its not so time consuming. During the final simmer, just keep your steaks warm and get your vegetable side or salad ready, then it doesn't feel like it took forever. I like to serve it with mashed potatoes to soak up any leftover sauce on the plate! Wonderful dish, I highly recommend it, especially if your trying to impress!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nurse cooksalot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 238) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Yet Romantic Filet Mignon

All you need are a few minutes to make perfect bacon-wrapped filet mignon.

Filet Mignon with Rich Balsamic Glaze

See how to make an impressive steak dinner for two that's also quick and easy!

Beef Medallions with Caramelized Pan Sauce

An elegant beef tenderloin dish that’s surprisingly quick and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States